Matzo Brei Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is very close to how my mom made it. I like mine a little bit more "eggy" so I will do three or four eggs (beaten with a hand mixer) per recipe. I also use butter instead of oil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
good starting recipe. my mother makes it with cinnamon, sugar and raisins in a whole or in patties, we make it with ketchup and yellow cheese, pizza matza brei.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evacooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I'm surprised nobody mentioned fruit! For a nice healthy breakfast add a pinch of salt, and some fresh berries it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Make it with garlic, onions, and chopped chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Was either too eggy or too dry the two times I made it. I think I'll finish this box of matzos as individual pieces instead of cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
try this with lox and onion. Break up small pieces of nova scotia lox and saute onion in butter or just add to the egg mixture if you like. I run the matzoh over warm water very fast. Use 2-3 pieces and 1-2 eggs for 2 ppl. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is very simple and traditional recipe. I soak in warm water. You have better control. You don't want it to soaky. I like it with just a little firmness. Let the egg mixture soak a little longer to soften completely. I use only oil. The very traditional way is to use schmoltz (rendered chicken fat). My grandmother made it that way. Definitely use a little minced onion. Fry the onion first then add the matzo mixture. This is the Russian way. My wife's family is Polish and they separate the eggs and fold in the whites and serve with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I soak the matzo pieces in cold milk for at least five minutes (rather than water). I leave out the pepper and fry it in butter, too. With sugar on top it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Good recipe as written. However, I mix the eggs and the matzo together with salt, pepper to taste and about 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder. Let sit for about 15 minutes to soften the matzo. As you're cooking taste to make sure there is enough salt and pepper. That was my grandmother's recipe and a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmlvy75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Another classic recipe. Leave out the salt and pepper and sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar or some jam for a deliciously sweet passover breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States