Matzo Brei Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I like more eggs so I added more but this was great, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is a good base recipe to play with. My husband and I prefer an eggier version, so I use three eggs for two pieces of matzo. I saute onions in butter, sometimes adding sauteed bell peppers and/mushrooms as well if I have them on hand. For a sweet option, I like to peel and cut up apples and cook them in butter with cinnamon before adding the egg and matzo mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I think this is a great recipe, but instead of putting cinnamon or sugar, you should put salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gavriel bejamin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
That was the way my mother made it when I was a child. I make it for myself now by running warm water over a couple of sheets of matzoh until I feel they are well soaked. Then break the matzoh into pieces (not too Small) then soak them in 2 scrambled eggs, fry it in butter and I prefer it with maple syrup even though I was brought up having it with sugar. It's a great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stanbldr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is very close to how my mom made it. I like mine a little bit more "eggy" so I will do three or four eggs (beaten with a hand mixer) per recipe. I also use butter instead of oil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
good starting recipe. my mother makes it with cinnamon, sugar and raisins in a whole or in patties, we make it with ketchup and yellow cheese, pizza matza brei.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evacooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I'm surprised nobody mentioned fruit! For a nice healthy breakfast add a pinch of salt, and some fresh berries it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Make it with garlic, onions, and chopped chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Was either too eggy or too dry the two times I made it. I think I'll finish this box of matzos as individual pieces instead of cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
try this with lox and onion. Break up small pieces of nova scotia lox and saute onion in butter or just add to the egg mixture if you like. I run the matzoh over warm water very fast. Use 2-3 pieces and 1-2 eggs for 2 ppl. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States