Matty's Brie Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Tried this last night for a "girls' night out" with friends. It was a big hit - - - flavors are wonderful. One tip: to remove the "rind" from the brie, put cheese in freezer for 10 minutes and the peeling is a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was delicious! Next time I'm going to double the recipe... it was one of the first things gone at my holiday party. I didn't even get to the nutmeg as everyone had started eating it without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatsupcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Pits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Delicious! It is such a simple recipe but who doesn't like melted brie!?! I made this for a New Year's Eve party and it was the hit of the party. Get ingredients always make the dish so don't be cheap with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I absolutely love this fondue! A little tip: I mix the cornstarch with a bit of water to make a sort of paste, then add that to the pot with the wine and cheese. I think that helps the cornstarch "set" and give the fondue thickness. Otherwise I've had it come out too lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I served this for Valentines Day for my husband. We both loved it. I did end up being a little on the salty side. Neither of us seemed to mind it as it wasn't overpoweringly salty. (I should have tasted it before adding additional salt) I don't keep wine or sherry on hand but I did have white cooking wine and cooking sherry so there wasn't an alcohol taste like some of the other reviewers found. Since there was only two of us eating I cut the recipe in half, except for the garlic, I still crushed up 2 cloves and it was perfect. I served this with beer bread, cooked chicken (seasoned with salt and pepper) apples and veggies. We both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I made a couple changes to this recipe. I used chicken broth instead of wine. I changed the cornstarch to flour and added a few ounces of jalapeno pepper cheese. It was delicious. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Amazing! I ran out of white wine so I used chicken stock. My 3 year old LOVED it. We'll definately add this into our meal rotation more frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
After shopping, I realized I had no corn starch, so I subbed white flour. I used chardonnay and cooking sherry for the alcohol. I made this for my hubby and sons (18 and 13) and another 19-year-old whose timing is always perfect. Used french bread cubes, steamed broccoli and apple pieces. Great hit! Everyone loved it. Probably made enough for 6, but we served with steamed shrimp. Definite make-again. Can't wait to try with corn starch to compare silkiness, but flour was fine, too! Thanks, OregonCoastGirl, for a great cheese fondue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I also added some asiago cheese and bacon bits. Didn't add any brandy bc I didn't have it. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States