Matt's Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This makes a nice, tasty, healthy dish. I served it over rice with broccoli and water chestnuts. Everyone enjoyed it and my daughter quickly grabbed the leftovers for lunch for the next day. I ended up deboning the chicken because if you eat with your eyes, no one would find my dish appetizing. This is not a reflection on the recipe, but the cook. It was the ugliest chicken I’d ever made. I’m not just talking unattractive, I’m talking down-right ugly. However, the family was blissfully ignorant of its initial appearance and thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I just want to thank you! This recipe got my very picky children to eat their rice! We thinned the sauce some so it could be poured over the rice itself and it was a hit! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Delicious and easy! I threw in some onion and tomato that I had leftover, and that tasted great with the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I used full chicken breast and it came out delicious!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLONDBABEB83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Great recipe! I love that there is a minimal amount of ingredients, at least, fewer than another one I used. The result was fabulous! I also added some baby carrots for a crock-pot soft quality of mushiness. Delicious recipe, will make time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
My family loved this receipe, I did tweak it a bit after making it the first time. I used apple cider vinegar, low sodium soy sauce, added whole garlic cloves, a small quartered onion and two extra bay leaves..It gave it an extra kick. It even tastes better the next day..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Excellent !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This was awesome. I didn't have peppercorns on hand but I just eyeballed everything else. I'd also browned some sausage to put into some dirty rice, and I sauteed the mashed garlic cloves in the grease. Used a slotted spoon to remove the garlic then used some water to get the yummy bits out of the skillet. That went into the chicken sauce. It was delicious. I like a lot of flavor though, so I probably used quite a bit more soy sauce and vinegar than most people. Thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Perfect. This is classic adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This recipe was not bad. The first time I made it as-is. The second time I made it with apple cider vinegar instead of white and both my husband and I thought it was an improvement. This will probably be my go-to recipe when I just want to throw together dinner since it's so easy and I always have the ingredients on hand. Sometimes I add a few tablespoons of sugar to the sauce to make things interesting. Always spoon the sauce over rice! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States