Matt's Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I just want to thank you! This recipe got my very picky children to eat their rice! We thinned the sauce some so it could be poured over the rice itself and it was a hit! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Delicious and easy! I threw in some onion and tomato that I had leftover, and that tasted great with the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Not my favorite recipe for adobo chicken. It didn't have the depth other recipes have. I ended up reducing the liquid and adding other things to it to make it taste good. I added more soy sauce, some honey, ginger... made it into a thick sauce and brushed it on the chicken that was lacking the flavor I craved. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This makes a nice, tasty, healthy dish. I served it over rice with broccoli and water chestnuts. Everyone enjoyed it and my daughter quickly grabbed the leftovers for lunch for the next day. I ended up deboning the chicken because if you eat with your eyes, no one would find my dish appetizing. This is not a reflection on the recipe, but the cook. It was the ugliest chicken I’d ever made. I’m not just talking unattractive, I’m talking down-right ugly. However, the family was blissfully ignorant of its initial appearance and thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This recipe was not bad. The first time I made it as-is. The second time I made it with apple cider vinegar instead of white and both my husband and I thought it was an improvement. This will probably be my go-to recipe when I just want to throw together dinner since it's so easy and I always have the ingredients on hand. Sometimes I add a few tablespoons of sugar to the sauce to make things interesting. Always spoon the sauce over rice! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Very good chicken. Did as another reviewer did and cooked it on the BBQ wrapped in foil. I used chicken broth in place of the water, and very low sodium soy sauce.I also took the chicken out of the foil and put it on the grill for the grill marks.The chicken turned out nice and juicy. This is a keeper for me. Thank you moaa for this very tasty recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
My family loved this receipe, I did tweak it a bit after making it the first time. I used apple cider vinegar, low sodium soy sauce, added whole garlic cloves, a small quartered onion and two extra bay leaves..It gave it an extra kick. It even tastes better the next day..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
i used chicken breast, next time i'll do leg meat or pork. I used the exact measurements and found it to be quite bland and even a bit over cooked,although breast is a little dryer than leg meat maybe a 25-30 min simmer would suffice. i was worried that it may be salty on account of it saying to add water if salty but it totally could have used MORE soy sauce and probably more bay leaf, and unfortunately the traditional flavor just wasn't there. i did add half an onion with the garlic and i will definitely NOT be using this recipe ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is surprisingly good. I used wine vinegar instead and thigh fillets. Great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I used chicken thighs for this recipe and it turned out amazing. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States