Matthew's Bearnaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Terrific! Followed as written. Made to use with steak. Was also delicious w/brocolli. Love this sauce and will be making some batches, to keep in frig, then adding egg yolks & butter (to 2T of pre-made refrigerated ingredients) when we're in the mood for this sauce with steamed veggies, chicken...who knows what else ;^) Update: Made a dozen batches to store in fridge: Still tastes great. Very handy. No prepping(!) and takes about 5 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Amazing, creamy and incredibly tasty. Not used to whisking so much, but definately worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellicle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
We loved this sauce! My brother made this for a family get together to serve over steak, and it was DELICIOUS! The only change that was made was omitting the taragon (we didnt have any on hand). Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rye, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and the results were wonderful. The best Bearnaise I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
The easiest Bearnaise Sauce yet! For my family's taste, I did add a little fresh lemon juice, a touch more tarragon and salt, and a good dash of cayenne pepper. I poured the sauce over grilled beef filet mignon which was topped with an artichoke heart. I loved the ease of this recipe; super creamy too! This will replace the recipe that I grew up with and use with beef fondue. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanneBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
THE VERY BEST BEARNAISE--FOLLOW THE RECIPE---YUM-YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GNFSHN4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
A super easy recipe with an incredibly beautiful result! Follow the recipe exactly and you'll have no problem recognizing the various cooking points of this sauce. I added a bit of fresh lemon juice to complement Steak Oscar - my clients' loved every drop of this luscious sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Angie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I cannot say enough good things about this recipe. I love bearnaise sauce in the fancy steakhouses and tonight when my husband and I decided to make really nice filets from Whole Foods, I thought I'd give it a shot. This was so simple and tasted so good. The whole experience was better than a fancy steakhouse because we made everything ourselves and could enjoy in our own home. I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very easy and quick. (Have your hot melted butter ready before you start whisking the eggs.) Yum - can't wait to make this again to serve with crab legs for new years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kamuela, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Jenwee99
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great recipe and instructions on how to make my favorite steak sauce. I couldnt find any white wine vinegar so I had to substitue tarragon vinegar. Great but definately not heart healthy! :) Tips: I would say the way I like it is to save the bits of shallots and tarragon and add that to the sauce when it finishes. It makes it a little chunky but I think it adds more flavor. Also you need to watch the heat while you are whisking the egg yolks, be ready to pull it off the double boiler for a few minutes it needs be. You can't start to make this sauce and walk away from it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States