Matar Pulao (Rice with Peas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
A lot of work and when preparing it smelled so good, but was not that flavorful when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Add two heaping tablespoons of yogurt after frying the peas with the spices for a few minutes...makes the rice moist and tender. I also add bay leaves and 1 tbsp cumin seeds to the spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Really, I give this recipe a 4.5 only because I added one ingredient that is not listed and that was garam marsala taken from another rater. I made this for my family two days ago and they loved it. NOw, I am back on here to print the recipe and make it for 50 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this recipe the other day, and while it was very aromatic and made my whole house smell AMAZING, it was kind of lacking in the flavor department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheInfamousMeg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I think this was supposed to be good but I must have messed up the seasoning somewhere. My rice turned out bland. Don't be shy about seasoning with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
In my opinion, this rice dish is unnecessarily flavourless, but then perhaps that is because I am more used to the spicy Indian dishes. --Not a recipe I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is an amazing dish. I generally add about 1/2 tsp of garam masala to the garlic powder paste for just a bit more flavor. Additionally (as indianakg stated), extra time for cooking the basmati is NOT necessary. I would never have believed it when I first started cooking Basmati either, but as long as a) the mixture continues to boil and b) you have a tight-fitting lid on your skillet, 10-15 minutes is honestly all it takes! I cook it MUCH more often now that I know this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
If you can't find whole spices, 2 cinnamon sticks is about a teaspoon of ground cinnamon, 3 cardamom seeds is about a half teaspoon ground, and 4 whole cloves is about a third teaspoon ground. Edit: Also, I just wanted to add that people commenting on the blandness of the rice are missing the point. This dish is not meant to stand alone, but to be served with other Indian dishes. It has complemented the curries I've served it with very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly. This is a very tasty, simple rice preparation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States