Matar Pulao (Rice with Peas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Fast, easy, and delicious. This fragrant rice dish is an excellent accompaniment to any Indian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
YUMMY and FRAGRANT!!! The scent kept bringing my whole family (ages 4-40) into the kitchen wondering when dinner would be ready. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. Next time, I would wait until the very end of the cooking time to add the peas. They were very dull colored and over-done. I prefer my peas barely cooked and bright green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASUISSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Easy to make. I cut back on the rice and water but kept the spices the same. When I poured the garlic powder/water into the pan I set off the smoke alarm, oops! Good mild dish. I was expecting it to have a bit more flavor, but it was still good. The peas added a nice sweetness. Used brown rice, so cooked for longer, and didn't add the thawed peas until the end of cooking time, they were just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I found this recipe very bland. I don't know what would fix this - doubling or tripling the spices? Using the ground version of the spices? I also doubled the peas, and still wanted more. Oh, and I added cubed sauteed tofu for protein, which worked pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Great recips. Something different for plain rice. I liked it, but you must really like spices as it has a complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This is good recipe but instead of plain water I use chicken broth or stock cube dissolved in water, and I use canned peas - added once rice cooked. Stir & leave in the steaming rice till served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATATWORK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Because I used ground spices, I prepared this in a slightly different way. I sauteed a small amount of each spice and the uncooked rice in oil. Then added the water and the frozen peas. The spice combination creates a wonderful aroma while cooking and an interesting mild flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Made this to go with a Chicken Saag and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe - very interesting spice combination without being overpowering. We had this with Butter Lamb Gravy from this site and enjoyed it thoroughly. I would give this a 5 if not for the way-off cooking time. Do not dream that you will have cooked basmati in 15 minutes unless it is precooked. It takes more like 40-45. Still, the rest of the recipe is excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I'm so sorry....but I really wish you had added onions and ginger too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States