Matar Pulao (Rice with Peas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Yum. I was looking for a change from my typical raisin/curry style and this is a great pick to alternate in the rotation. I didn't have cardamom seeds, but I always have ground cardamom (love it). I decided to grind the peppercorns and cloves with mortar & pestle and also used ground cinnamon instead of the sticks since everything else was ground too. I realized last minute that I had run out of basmati and forgotten to buy more. I thought about using jasmine rice instead but went with couscous. We ate this up with Tilapia seasoned with garam masala and a dollop of plain yogurt. Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Good recipe! I don't understand why people are saying that more time is required for rice cooking. I used basmati rice that cooked in 9 minutes after boiling. After boiling the mixture, cover the pan with a little escape for steam. The steam pressure cooks the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very simple and very tasty. My family is Pakistani, and I think this recipe is quite close to authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Easy to make and subtly flavoured, this is a nice side to any saucy curry. JI don't think you'd want it much spicier or it would compete with whatever you pair it with. Only two changes made - 1) I added the frozen peas to the rice when there was 5 minutes cooking time left so they kept their shape and colour and 2) I cut back the water - 2 cups of rice, 3 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very aromatic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Great side dish, I didn't have the whole spices, but used ground instead (eyeballed) and it was wonderful. Very subtle and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Excellent dish. My whole family loved it, even my husband who is not a fan of rice. I was hesitant to try it but very delighted. I may keep these spices on hand everyday incase I feel like some subtle and fragrant rice. I did not use basmati but I will be next time for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I'm so sorry....but I really wish you had added onions and ginger too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe - very interesting spice combination without being overpowering. We had this with Butter Lamb Gravy from this site and enjoyed it thoroughly. I would give this a 5 if not for the way-off cooking time. Do not dream that you will have cooked basmati in 15 minutes unless it is precooked. It takes more like 40-45. Still, the rest of the recipe is excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Made this to go with a Chicken Saag and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States