Master Recipe for Rich and Creamy Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
WOW! This is now my new standard cheesecake recipe. Just made a Blueberry version. Swirled in a few spoonfuls of Blueberry Preserves into the cheesecake batter before baking. Then, after cooling, spread blueberry topping from "White Chocolate Blueberry Cheesecake" on top(Fresh blueberries, water, sugar, corn starch or minute tapioca, and lemon juice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This cheesecake is great!! The sour cream and heavy cream really do make a difference!! So rich and creamy. I had never baked a cheesecake in a water bath like this before (guess I thought it was too much of a pain), but it makes a HUGE difference. I usually put a lot of toppings on my cheesecakes after they are done, but what bothered me is that the tops would always crack and then get hard...putting them in a pan of water like this really does stop this from happening! Cheesecake was nice, firm, and super creamy (I made the Snickers one)....the best one yet!! Will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondamich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I make cheesecake all the time and I think this is a great base recipe. My boyfriend wanted a Butterfinger and Reeses cheesecake for his birthday so I used this recipe as a foundation. For the crust I used the instructions for the crust of the Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake that is also found on this website. You mix 1 1/2 c of chocolate cookie crumbs, 1/3 c of powdered sugar and 1/3 c of coco powder together then stir in 1/4 c melted butter. Bake for 10 min. Then I always give mine plenty of time to cool before adding the cheesecake filling. I use this crust a lot and everyone always raves about it. For the filling in crushed 5 fun size Butterfinger and cut up 5 Reeses cups. The cheesecake turned out awesome and my boyfriend said it was the best one yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
My son wanted a "Plain" Cheesecake for his birthday. Found this. Since other people would be at the party and want some "Flavors" I chose this recipe. IT IS AWESOME. I have made it three times since March. I always make some toppings to go with it. Chocolate syrup, peanut butter sauce, caramel sauce, fruit sauces, chopped Reese's peanut butter cups and mini choc. chips. I just make regular graham cracker crust. Also I usually bake for about 10 minutes longer, then proceed like normal. Everyone that tries this either wants me to make it for them or they want the recipe. Thank you for our "Families" cheesecake recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was my first time ever making cheesecake, and this was delicious! I made the basic recipe and drizzled chocolate and caramel sauce over it. I did make a bit more crust. The only thing is it does need to bake just a little longer. My husband requested this again for father's day, so I'll try to add an additional 10 minutes to the baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
amazing! perfectly level, no cracks and amazing taste, i used an oreo crust and added chopped reeses, for a family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peavy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I did the lemon variation with ricotta in place of the cream and sour cream. I also added some raspberries to the lemon curd on top. It was great, not too heavy and just sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was my first homemade cheesecake. The reese version was awesome. My guests loved it, and there wasn't a piece left at the end of the party. I did everything per the recipe, but I had to leave it in the oven for an extra 5 minutes b/f I turned the oven off.I also subbed in 1/3 less fat cream cheese, and no one could tell. Actually, everyone said that it was the creamy-est cheesecake they had ever had. Next time I will make it with a regular crust. This recipe pretty much doesn't have a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I make a lot of cheesecake but I usually make it "simple" no sour cream and no cream..but I decided to give this one a shot. It was really good! A lot creamier than those that I usually make! Since it was my first time making this one, I kept to the original version. I just topped it with blueberries and strawberries. Also, I made a more traditional crust. I can't wait to experiment with some variations...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was my first homemade cheesecake and my family loved it. I made it 4th of July weekend and put blueberry filling and strawberry filling on top to match the occasion. I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States