Master Recipe for Rich and Creamy Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I have been making cheesecakes for my husband's mens group for almost a year. I made the Apple Spice Cheesecake for them and have been told this has been the BEST cheesecake I have ever made. Then I made the Reese's cheesecake for my ladies' group (we need chocolate) and again they also thought it was the best. I highly recommend and look forward to making more variations! I did however change the crust to a more traditional graham cracker crust for the Apple Spice cheese cake by using 2 cups graham cracker crumbs, a stick of butter melted, and 1 cup of sugar. For the Reese's Cheesecake I used the Famous Chocolate Wafers. I used 2 cups crushed wafers and one stick of butter melted to make the crust. I like the thicker crusts and could not see how 3 Tbsps. of crumbs could make a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The Master Cheesecake recipe was very light and flavorful with a wonderful soft and featherweight texture. I followed the recipe's directions exactly, struggling somewhat with configuring the foil around the springform pan, but finally got it right! Also, I used the Famous Chocolate Wafers to coat the sides and bottom of the pan...a very, very thin coating that really didn't leave a crust at all once the cheesecake came out of the oven. Couple of suggestions: the Master Cheesecake recipe says forty minutes in the oven (in the bain marie). My batch could have gone another 8-10 minutes (and my oven was calibrated at 325 degrees). Then, as the recipe stated, I turned off the heat and left the oven door ajar for thirty minutes. Also, I don't understand just using 3 tablespoons of crumbs to line the sides of the pan...not enough. Should I have not lined the bottom of the pan? I guess I am use to the traditional thick graham cracker crust. Anyway, bottom-line here: excellent taste and texture and so light that you "almost" feel guiltless eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by swissmiss
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I must say I am a cheesecake Connoisseur. I have been looking for the perfect cheesecake recipe and after trying this one, I found it. I love the creamy, light texture. I am not a fan of a thick, dense cheesecake. I made the original recipe once and the second time swirled some blueberry topping in. I was asked where I bought the cheesecake and my guests could not believe I made it. It is absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swissmiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
STOP LOOKING! You have found the best cheesecake recipe ever! I made a traditional graham cracker crust (2 cups graham cracker crumbs , 1 stick of butter, 2 TBSP sugar) and baked an additional 20 minutes before turning the oven off and opening the oven door. Topped with fresh strawberries and hot fudge. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made this according to directions (but with a graham cracker crust), except I didn't use the water bath, but put a pan of boiling water under the cheesecake. It was an absolute hit with everyone - except the one son who doesn't like cheesecake at all; he said it was OK. The texture was perfect - not grainy or lumpy. Next time I might add a half teaspoon of lemon extract. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I make a lot of cheesecake but I usually make it "simple" no sour cream and no cream..but I decided to give this one a shot. It was really good! A lot creamier than those that I usually make! Since it was my first time making this one, I kept to the original version. I just topped it with blueberries and strawberries. Also, I made a more traditional crust. I can't wait to experiment with some variations...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This cheesecake is great!! The sour cream and heavy cream really do make a difference!! So rich and creamy. I had never baked a cheesecake in a water bath like this before (guess I thought it was too much of a pain), but it makes a HUGE difference. I usually put a lot of toppings on my cheesecakes after they are done, but what bothered me is that the tops would always crack and then get hard...putting them in a pan of water like this really does stop this from happening! Cheesecake was nice, firm, and super creamy (I made the Snickers one)....the best one yet!! Will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondamich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
My son wanted a "Plain" Cheesecake for his birthday. Found this. Since other people would be at the party and want some "Flavors" I chose this recipe. IT IS AWESOME. I have made it three times since March. I always make some toppings to go with it. Chocolate syrup, peanut butter sauce, caramel sauce, fruit sauces, chopped Reese's peanut butter cups and mini choc. chips. I just make regular graham cracker crust. Also I usually bake for about 10 minutes longer, then proceed like normal. Everyone that tries this either wants me to make it for them or they want the recipe. Thank you for our "Families" cheesecake recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I made the Lemon version of this cheesecake for Easter and it was marvelous! Very creamy and just the right ratio of tart/sweet. I do not recommend the optional ladyfinger lining. Next time I will make a crust of shortbread cookies. Splurge on a good quality lemon curd. It makes all the difference. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
this was wonderful. I wanted a pumpkin cheesecake so I added a can of pumpkin, 1 tsp. cinnimon 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. ground ginger. I baked it for 50 min and let it sit in oven for 30 after and it's done. Can't wait until it's cooled and it's time to eat! Tasted just a bit of it and it is creamy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States