Master Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Excellent crust! It was very soft and easy to roll out, but nice and chewy once cooked. I used the footnote also for the dry active yeast. **I've also now made the recipe as written with the Rapid Rise yeast twice and it's so easy and delicious. Since the price is the same for dry active and rapid rise, I'm now buying the rapid rise. I also made 2 batches last time and used one for breadsticks by pressing the dough into a small cookie sheet pan, scoring with a pizza cutter and brushing on olive oil, dried oregano and basil, garlic powder and salt and pepper. I baked them for about 20 minutes at 400° and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Photo by Amanda P
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I could not believe how wonderful this dough turned out. My husband's family has made pizza every Saturday night for decades. It usually takes between 2-2 1/2 hrs to complete a pizza. It's always delicious, but sometimes you need pizza faster! So I threw my hand in with this dough and it was so yummy. Crunch on the outside, soft in the middle. Make my own pizza sauce, put some garlic salt and parmesan cheese around the crust and VOILA! Very good! Will use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
No complaints here. I made this recipe in my Kitchen Aid, using the bread hook to knead the dough. I did not use the cornmeal, only because I forgot. I spread half the dough out onto my cookie baking sheet (for a thin crust) and prebaked it for 5 minutes before topping it. My boys ate two pieces each in less than five minutes. I would say it was a hit! Next time, I'll try the garlic herb version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
For a very basic dough that's easy to make and extremely soft after baking, you're definitely in the right place. I found, however, that just the plain dough was a little too ordinary, so I spiced it up a bit and added some minced garlic, basil, and a little bit more salt when the dough was being made. After I put it in the pan and had all the toppings on it, I brushed the crust with some melted butter and sprinkled garlic powder and Parmesan cheese before putting it into the oven. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Chu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I had never made pizza before, so I decided to try out this particular recipe. It came out absolutely delicous!! The dough tasted amazing and was crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside!! me and my boyfriend loved it. Will make it plenty of times more. For sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil-mama-cassandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
A truly wonderful crust! This is the only crust recipe I have come across that has tasted anything like a restaurants! I added garlic and butter to the crust before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countess Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I have been looking at this recipe for a very long time. I made it for my famliy last night and they love it. To me the ture test of a good pizza is the next day cold. And, this pizza is great hot or cold. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob G
Photo by The Bakestress
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
To make the dough, I used regular yeast (not rapid rise), following the footnote directions. It was very simple to make. However, I dont think the recipe calls for enough salt. Also, 2.5 cups of flour was too much.... I only ended up using about 21/8 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bakestress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I made exactly as described with 1 cup whole wheat flour. Possibly my favorite pizza crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I love this recipe. I have done "lots" of stuff to the dough, ie additions like, minced fresh garlic, roasted garlic, herbs, you name it- it takes it all and is always consistent. I found with my oven the cheese would start to brown before the crust was done so now I sauce and top the pizza (9x13, deep dish style on parchment paper) bake for 15 min, remove, add the cheese and bake until the crust is golden and the cheese all melted. PERFECTION!!!! I don't even have to look up this recipe, its committed to memory- so easy and so good. If your looking for a pizza dough recipe try this one. You'll be very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States