Master Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This crust was everything I was looking for...crusty on the outside and chewy inside. I used high-gluten flour which made all the difference for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Superb crust. I make this recipe in the food processor, I'll make three of four separate batches and wrap each dough ball with plastic wrap, then foil, and then into the freezer. A ball will defrost overnight in the fridge or an afternoon on the counter, or remove foil and use 10% defrost in the microwave--check every 30 seconds until dough is defrosted and softened. For the freezer crusts I don't bother to warm the water, I use a full teaspoon of salt and two teaspoons of rapid-rise. i never make anything the same way twice and this week I made doughs with one cup AP flour, one cup of bread flour, a half cup of whole wheat and added in as much extra bread flour as was needed to form the dough ball. Hubs loved this batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made the recipe with the directions for the regular active yeast and added rosemary and garlic. Nice to work with. However, once baked (on a pizza stone), the texture felt more like breadsticks than the NY style pizza I am used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This is my go to recipe, easy and fast, I add garlic,oregano and onion powder to the dough and I like it better than take out. I have pizza at least twice a month and always have half recipe in freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
A really great dough to work with! I put the ingredients in my Kitchen Aid with the dough hook, and it did all the work. I added the sweet basil flakes to the dough, and it was a nice addition. I've made this crust a few times. I've even made it and froze the dough in a ball. I just let it rise as it thaws and roll it out on the pizza pan. No complaints at all with this crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Ron B
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I like this recipe the crust turned out well, I did use 1 cup of wheat flour. I think it would be better with all white flour. The best part of the pizza was the toppings. After I roll out the dough I put on the cheese (cheddar and mozzarella), ranch dressing, homemade hot sauce, Canadian Bacon and mushrooms, bake, cut and eat. Yummy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Very very good. I used pizza yeast and added a small amount of sugar but rose lovely and cooked amazingly. Also used mushroom and sage infused olive oil that have it a lovely flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
great good for stuff bread also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
We all loved this crust! I didn't do any of the variations in the footnotes except to follow the directions to use active dry yeast. Next time I will give the garlic and herb dough a try, I think it will be even more delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is an excellent basic pizza dough recipe, and easy to put together for a last minute meal or snack. Since I like variety, I've also added various herbs to the dough. Usually 1/4 teaspoon each of chives, basil, oregano, garlic, rosemary, thyme....whatever you like in whatever combination you're in the mood for. The herbed-up dough makes for great pizza sticks for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States