Massachusetts Straub Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Flavor was great. However, if using dry beans, make sure to soak them overnight before adding them or they will still be hard after you're done cooking (The recipe didn't say to do that). My husband raved about it - after I figured out that I needed to soak the beans first that is ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
We love this chili and have received rave reviews from friends and family. I substituted the kidney beans for pinto beans and added some cumin. This chili is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I want to say this is a really great recipe but I made alot of changes to it. First I used a lb of ground turkey in place of the 1/2 lb of ground beef. I also added a sizable amount of chili powder and cumin, left out the italian seasoning, and added a package of chili seasoning. I left out the beef broth, I think it would have made it too soupy. I also used canned kidney beans. With all of these alterations, the recipe was awesome, my fiance and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chetwynd, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Harrisville, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very Good, Extremely Hardy. Did use canned beans instead of the dry. Would make again and just tweek to my families taste buds, Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
For me it took about 3 hours for the stewing steak to be melt-in-the-mouth tender. I also added way more fresh minced garlic. I don't recommend cooking it uncovered - mine was covered, and I still ended up having to add some tomato juice so it didn't dry out. Anyway, this is good stuff. Thanks, Shawn and Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I really enjoyed the flavor of this chili! It was mild enough the kids enjoyed it, but not bland. I did omit the pepper due to family preference. I think this will be my "go-to" chili recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESMOMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Wow.. This is one of the best chili recipe! :) My husband and I loved it. I couldn't find dried kidney beans, so, I used a can of kidney beans instead. It turned out to be very good. Thank you for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
So much better than chili with canned beans! I used a full pound of ground beef, instead of adding 1/2 lb of stew meat. I used freshly canned tomatoes and added a little extra beef broth. Since it was still a tad thin for out taste, I added a small can of tomato paste. As per other reviewers I soaked the beans overnight in a pot of water. Oh yeah... Keep the lid on the pot when simmering (unless you like SUPER thick chili).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy_jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Corinne
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I liked this a lot and so did my family. I cut way down on the chili powder for my toddlers sake and added some onion powder, garlic salt and a bit more italian seasoning than it called for. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was wonderful!!!! I used buffalo stew meat and regular ground beef. I also added a can of tomato paste to help thicken it up, but those are the only changes I made and it wasn't too soupy and was seasoned perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States