Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I liked this dish. I did not add milk because my hubby is lactose intolerant. I boiled my sweet potatoes whole. It takes longer, but I think that chopping them before boiling cooks some of the natural flavor out of them. I boil, peel, mash, and heat. I also added about a tablespoon of cinnamon. I thought it was great with the garlic spinach recipe on this site. The contrast of flavors was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Followed the instructions but cut down the butter and syrup by about half. I did add crumbled bacon. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Callahan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Love how easy it is to make, how smooth the texture feels and how the taste marry together so well. I love maple syrup so this was not a hard sell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This has more sweet than needed. I have started doing it by baking the potatoes rather than boiling them, then after scooping out the skins, mixing in a little blood orange infused olive oil I get from a local olive oil bar and maybe a tablespoon of agave nectar. No milk is needed, I find. As one other reviewer commented you could put in some cinnamon, allspice or clove if you like. But to our taste, the sweet potatoes really don't need all that much to be wholesome as well as awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I Didn't Have Maple Syrup So I Used The "Original" Flavor Along With White, Light Brown & Dark Brown Sugar. I've Tried Other Recipes But This Was By Far The Best & Easiest Recipe I've Come Across! Thank You For Sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Very good. I put in broth from the chicken I cooked up with the meal and the spices in it made the sweet potatatoes extra delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luella Pomedli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This recipe was awesome with ribs!I added the ingredients to my taste and consistency and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novice cook1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Yummiest mashed sweet potatoes I've ever had! I make these every year for Thanksgiving to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
The overall taste of these was very good. I have some issues with the ingredient amounts and directions though. First off, I was preparing this for 2 people, so I only bought 2 sweet potatoes instead of 6. When I started putting the sweet potato chunks in the pan to cook, it was clear there would be way too much, so I really only used a little more than 1 sweet potato. Just 1 probably would have been enough, as we had leftovers. Second, the instructions say to add milk until it's the desired texture and then add the butter and maple syrup. Those ingredients thinned out the sweet potatoes even more and it ended up a lot more liquid than I liked. So I would recommend adding the butter and maple syrup first, and then if you want it any thinner add milk last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This dish was AMAZING! Though I did change a few things. I boiled 1 full sized carrot and two peeled sweet potatoes for 45 minuets. Then I would mash them together with 2 Tbsp honey, 1.5 cup milk, 1 Tsp butter, and 1 Tbsp maple syrup. I would also add a crisp. The crisp is 1.5 cup almond, 2 Tbsp maple syrup, .5. Cup brown surgar. Add it to the top then bake for 15 minuets on 250!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States