Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I've been making mashed sweet potatoes for a long time. I bake my potatoes (be sure to put foil under them). Then when done I remove the skin and rice them with just butter and a little salt. My DH doesn't like sweet potatoes with a bunch of sugar. He loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I'v been making my sweet potatoes this way for about 25 years now and will continue. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
It was great! I've always wanted to try mashed sweet potatoes. I added a little honey and a tablespoon of brown sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Even tastier with a spoonful or two of marshmallow fluff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I've made this recipe a few times now and they are so good. My almost 2 yr. old will even eat them and she has been very picky eater latly. I have used brown sugar and honey as suggested by another reviewer because we were out of maple syrup and they are really good that way also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was a good idea to begin with, but I followed the recipe exactly and it was more like baby food than mashed potatoes. Less milk is probably the solution to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyferrand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I whipped these up one night and followed the recipe exactly and they were the BEST mashed sweet potatoes that I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Laura G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I like sugar as much as any sugar-holic, but don't care for candy-sweet dishes with a meal. This recipe was exactly what I wanted - the taste of sweet potatoes that wasn't drowned out by sugar, nuts, and the dreaded marshmallows. After washing and piercing them, I placed the potatoes in glass pan with a bit of water, covered with pierced plastic wrap and microwaved them as another reader suggested. The skin slipped off easily and to avoid the issues of strings, I sliced them into disks, then mashed using a hand masher. Based on the sage advice of others, I added the remaining ingredients incrementally until I achieved the desired consistency and taste. they were going so fast that I hid a couple of servings in the fridge to enjoy with the turkey leftovers today. Many thanks to the contributor - this recipe will be on our table for decades to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made only 2 yams and added milk, butter, brown sugar, and just a dash of maple syrup to taste. Was definitely good and different as I'm getting sick of garlic mashed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by > AE <

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orefield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I just made these for Thursday's Thanksgiving Dinner--They are so good, I can't wait for my guests to try them. I cut down on the maple syrup and added some brown sugar and cinnamon. I will probably also add some chopped pecans when serving. I used sugar free syrup and splenda brown sugar to make them diabetic friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States