Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Could just be me, but I found the consistency too stringy. I also didn't have real maple syrup, I'm sure that would have made a difference, but 3 stars for the consistency alone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very good recipe. I used half of the syrup and butter suggested. I thought it could have used even less syrup because I added more milk to mask the syrupy taste but my husband loved it. I suggest adding the butter and syrup in very small increments as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These were great!!! I had traditionally used a recipe that had brown sugar in it as well, and was looking for something slightly less sweet. This wins a place at the Thanksgiving table every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Very quick simple and most importantly delish recipe,planning on make it again for Thanksgiving Day dinner. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mantua, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was delicious and so easy to make! Both my husband and I aren't big into sweet potatoes, but we loved this recipe. I only put in half of the maple syrup, and would put less butter in next time. We loved the buttery flavor, but I think it would be just as tasty (and healthier!) with a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
4.5 stars. I peeled and cut up 3 potatoes. Boiled them and mashed them. Mixed in 1/2 cup milk, 6 TBS butter, 1 TBS brown sugar, and 1 TBS of honey. Excellent. The sweetness was perfect (would not add any more sugar or honey). Made 3 meals-worth for our family (2 adults, 4 kids).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I added regular sugar and ground cumin, cloves, ginger, and cinnamon and used a lot less maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
These were easy and good- I only added cinnamon. I also used only 1 tbsp butter & halved the recipe. I boiled my potatoes whole, then cut them in half and scooped out the insides. I think that is easier than peeling and chopping raw potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I scaled this back to suit just two people. I peeled, cubed and boiled 1 large Yam for about 10 minutes. I added a little butter and milk, to taste. I knew the sweet potatoes would be naturally sweet so I only drizzled enough maple syrup to heighten it a little more without it being "overly" sweet. I stired and whipped the potatoes until they were the right consistency. Yams never disappoint me because they are already sweet and tasty. But with the addition of a the butter and maple syrup, these mashed sweet potatoes were buttery, flavorful and fluffy. I can already see that these will be a rotation for this year's Fall and Holiday meals. Tonight we all enjoyed these along with, "Turkey Veggie Meatloaf Cups, " "Garlic-Chive Mashed Potatoes, " and " Quick and Easy Sauteed Spinach, " also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Not bad. The maple syrup flavor is very strong. They taste like breakfast. Maybe next time I will use a lighter syrup. My girlfriend loved them, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States