Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Followed Madaleine's suggestion to cook with carrots and after, mash with 1/4 cup milk, honey & margarine..yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I used half the maple syrup and it was still too sweet for my 4 year old. But husband said it was worth making again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
We had them for Easter Dinner and they were good. Husband doesn't like sweet potatoes, but he ate them and even commented on how good they were. Will make again, but might tweak just a little with seasonings. I didn't have to add any milk, because the potatoes were already wet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Texas, USA
Living In: Appleton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used much less butter and syrup and it was sweet enough for me. Good flavour combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
excellent use of sweet potatoes..Next time I will add more carrots and reduce the amount of sweeteners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
For a less sweet version I use butter sour cream and a can of chopped green chilies. My family who won't eat sweet potatoes normally, love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Made a few modifications but everyone loved it - especially the kids. I cut the yams in half & nuked them for about 8 minutes, let them cool for 10 minutes and them scooped them easily right out of the skin. Added about about 2 tsp butter, fresh ground black pepper, a pinch of cinammin & about 2 tbsp of maple syrup. Just mashed with a potaoe masher (didn't need a blender) Also cooked 6 slices of bacon until crispy - chopped and stirred in & the end. Bacon isn't the healthiest add i know but will probably do it again for special occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
A bit sweet with the maple syrup. I omitted the syrup all together and used sweet potatoes, not yams, which are a lot less sweet, but hard to find...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I did not like the taste of maple syrup with the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Could just be me, but I found the consistency too stringy. I also didn't have real maple syrup, I'm sure that would have made a difference, but 3 stars for the consistency alone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States