Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I added a small pinch of salt and a few shakes of cinnamon, and used sugar-free syrup for the sake of a diabetic in our household. Since we were spared a few calories using the lower calorie syrup, I was able to use heavy cream instead of milk and still keep it under 200 calories per serving. I didn't need quite as much heavy cream as the original recipe called for in milk, so I imagine that if I had used milk in the recommended quantity, they would be a bit runny. The results were heavenly and this will absolutely be a new kitchen staple for us, with my changes incorporated. As a side note, I don't know if my sweet potatoes are abnormally large or not, but there is *no way* there are only 6 servings in the original recipe unless they are using much, much smaller potatoes than I used. I got 10 generous servings out of a *half*-batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I omitted the milk and replaced maple syrup with brown sugar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Really good. Just eyeballed everything and added a little brown sugar. They were good leftover today too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
They are awesome, i did not need to add milk, just a little bit of butter & syrup, mashed easy with a potato masher no need to use a mixer, definitely would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Right now I'm giving it 3 stars. I haven't tried it out yet on the family. First time making it and it seems okay. I went with the brown sugar and honey bit (THEINGRAMS4 review) and added a little nutmeg. Twenty minutes was fine when slicing the tater in four chunks and I used 6 medium sized sweet potatoes and used a small hand whisk to whip them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is a favorite for me when I cook pork chops. I add brown sugar to the mixture though and a dab or so of cinnamon. It makes it a bit more sweet which I personally like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Added 3 carrots to aid with sweetness and just used 1 tbsp of raw honey. Will probably use less honey next time. Used soy milk too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Yuuuuuummy! Did it like it said, and boy is it good! Very buttery, and the sweetness wasn't overpowering at all. (Though I do like my food very sweet, so I guess I'm biased.) Easy to make, and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Delicious! A staple part of our dinners every once in a while :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by browngoddezz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Yummy!!!! I adjusted the recipe to serve 2 and used fat free half and half instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States