Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
My 7 year old son decided he wanted to make mashed sweet potatoes, I asked him if he wanted to add maple syrup like this recipe said and he wanted to. But we only had pancake syrup. It is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Delicious! My recommendation-- don't skimp on the butter! I don't add the maple syrup, and use nonfat milk to even out the added butter calorically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by massoni5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I added a small pinch of salt and a few shakes of cinnamon, and used sugar-free syrup for the sake of a diabetic in our household. Since we were spared a few calories using the lower calorie syrup, I was able to use heavy cream instead of milk and still keep it under 200 calories per serving. I didn't need quite as much heavy cream as the original recipe called for in milk, so I imagine that if I had used milk in the recommended quantity, they would be a bit runny. The results were heavenly and this will absolutely be a new kitchen staple for us, with my changes incorporated. As a side note, I don't know if my sweet potatoes are abnormally large or not, but there is *no way* there are only 6 servings in the original recipe unless they are using much, much smaller potatoes than I used. I got 10 generous servings out of a *half*-batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I omitted the milk and replaced maple syrup with brown sugar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Really good. Just eyeballed everything and added a little brown sugar. They were good leftover today too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
They are awesome, i did not need to add milk, just a little bit of butter & syrup, mashed easy with a potato masher no need to use a mixer, definitely would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Right now I'm giving it 3 stars. I haven't tried it out yet on the family. First time making it and it seems okay. I went with the brown sugar and honey bit (THEINGRAMS4 review) and added a little nutmeg. Twenty minutes was fine when slicing the tater in four chunks and I used 6 medium sized sweet potatoes and used a small hand whisk to whip them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is a favorite for me when I cook pork chops. I add brown sugar to the mixture though and a dab or so of cinnamon. It makes it a bit more sweet which I personally like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Added 3 carrots to aid with sweetness and just used 1 tbsp of raw honey. Will probably use less honey next time. Used soy milk too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Yuuuuuummy! Did it like it said, and boy is it good! Very buttery, and the sweetness wasn't overpowering at all. (Though I do like my food very sweet, so I guess I'm biased.) Easy to make, and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States