Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I didn't have maple syrup in the house so I replaced the maple syrup with 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of honey...boy did I get rave reviews from the family! Everyone loved this, including my youngest daughter who can be quite picky when it comes to vegetables. This will be seen on our dinner table again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
575 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Nice complement to pecan breaded chicken made from this site. Makes girls like me more. Which is peculiar since my charming personality should be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
425 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy Zero

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I essentially made this but with a slight twist. I boiled 2 sweet potatoes and 1 carrot then mashed them together with 1/4 milk, 2 tbsp of honey and 1 tbsp of margarine. It was delicious! I will definitely make it again. On a side note I've also made this with a crisp. To do that put the finished mash into a casserole dish. In a separate bowl combine 1 tbsp melted butter, 1/2 crushed bran flakes and 1/4 cup pecans and 2 tbsp of brown sugar. Mix well and sprinkle on top of squash mash. Broil it in oven until crisp is lightly browned. Serve. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I didn't need to break out the mixer... potatoes were soft enough to just mash up with a fork. All you really need here is half the butter and the syrup the recipe calls for and NO milk. SO much healthier that way (I even used light syrup). A couple dashes of cinnamon and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
My husband couldn't stop raving about these. I added a bit of cloves and cinnamon as well. Perfect sidedish for a fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
Thank you for sharing this. We love nutritous sweet potatoes and this one is easier than the casseroles that are so popular. The maple syrup gives it a wonderful taste. Didn't rate kid opinion because we don't have any at home. Did not need this much milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
These were okay - just a little too sweet for me but my daughter really enjoyed this. I took a combination of other suggestions to reduce the sweetness: used 1/4c maple syrup, 1/4c honey and 2 TBLS brown sugar, A nice change to mashed potatoes but I'm not sure if I'm going to attempt them again. Still, thanks rainspirit for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
30 minutes was not enough time for the potatoes to cook. Next time I will cook them longer. Instead of all that maple syrup I used about 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar, 2 tablespoons of white sugar and topped it with cinnamon. Came out good, but a little lumpy because of the undercooked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Yummy - the syrup adds lots of flavor. Many people liked this one, but we couldn't eat to much at a time since the flavor was kind of strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I roast my potatoes whole in the oven then peel the skin after they cool a little. The flavor is much better than with them boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States