Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I'v been making my sweet potatoes this way for about 25 years now and will continue. They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
It was great! I've always wanted to try mashed sweet potatoes. I added a little honey and a tablespoon of brown sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Even tastier with a spoonful or two of marshmallow fluff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I've made this recipe a few times now and they are so good. My almost 2 yr. old will even eat them and she has been very picky eater latly. I have used brown sugar and honey as suggested by another reviewer because we were out of maple syrup and they are really good that way also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was a good idea to begin with, but I followed the recipe exactly and it was more like baby food than mashed potatoes. Less milk is probably the solution to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyferrand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I whipped these up one night and followed the recipe exactly and they were the BEST mashed sweet potatoes that I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Laura G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I like sugar as much as any sugar-holic, but don't care for candy-sweet dishes with a meal. This recipe was exactly what I wanted - the taste of sweet potatoes that wasn't drowned out by sugar, nuts, and the dreaded marshmallows. After washing and piercing them, I placed the potatoes in glass pan with a bit of water, covered with pierced plastic wrap and microwaved them as another reader suggested. The skin slipped off easily and to avoid the issues of strings, I sliced them into disks, then mashed using a hand masher. Based on the sage advice of others, I added the remaining ingredients incrementally until I achieved the desired consistency and taste. they were going so fast that I hid a couple of servings in the fridge to enjoy with the turkey leftovers today. Many thanks to the contributor - this recipe will be on our table for decades to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made only 2 yams and added milk, butter, brown sugar, and just a dash of maple syrup to taste. Was definitely good and different as I'm getting sick of garlic mashed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by > AE <

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orefield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I just made these for Thursday's Thanksgiving Dinner--They are so good, I can't wait for my guests to try them. I cut down on the maple syrup and added some brown sugar and cinnamon. I will probably also add some chopped pecans when serving. I used sugar free syrup and splenda brown sugar to make them diabetic friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I could eat the whole 6 servings! I didn't add as much milk b/c it would have been too runny. I add the butter first, then the syrup, and add milk until it is the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States