Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
The overall taste of these was very good. I have some issues with the ingredient amounts and directions though. First off, I was preparing this for 2 people, so I only bought 2 sweet potatoes instead of 6. When I started putting the sweet potato chunks in the pan to cook, it was clear there would be way too much, so I really only used a little more than 1 sweet potato. Just 1 probably would have been enough, as we had leftovers. Second, the instructions say to add milk until it's the desired texture and then add the butter and maple syrup. Those ingredients thinned out the sweet potatoes even more and it ended up a lot more liquid than I liked. So I would recommend adding the butter and maple syrup first, and then if you want it any thinner add milk last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This dish was AMAZING! Though I did change a few things. I boiled 1 full sized carrot and two peeled sweet potatoes for 45 minuets. Then I would mash them together with 2 Tbsp honey, 1.5 cup milk, 1 Tsp butter, and 1 Tbsp maple syrup. I would also add a crisp. The crisp is 1.5 cup almond, 2 Tbsp maple syrup, .5. Cup brown surgar. Add it to the top then bake for 15 minuets on 250!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I served these in cupcake tins at a pot luck. Made the potatoes as directed then put them in cupcake tins and broiled to crust a little bit of brown sugar on the top (mostly for looks). Very sweet, almost too sweet for me, but everyone at the party was VERY complimentary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I used almond milk instead of milk and no butter. Love my sweet potatoes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Thanks, this recipe was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving and my family loved it. They demanded I make it every year. I'll keep the maple syrup ingredient to myself as my "secret ingredient."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Delicious! We love these sweet potatoes. I cut back on the maple syrup & butter just for calories sake but delicious either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I am vegan so I replaced the milk with organic coconut milk. I did a bit of agave and raw brown sugar with a touch of cinnamon minus the maple syrup. I added some toasted coconut as an edible garnish....great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I have never been much of a sweet potato lover till recently and I really liked these potatoes. My husband who does not even like sweet potatoes ate them all up, though he said they were not his favorite. Coming from him, that is quite an accomplishment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is a great base recipe. As is, I figured it would be too sweet and too bland. So I added a little brown, white sugar, and honey. Also added cinnamon and nutmeg. We liked that it wasn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States