Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I gave this five stars but I also changed quite a lot of things about it. So many things that it was almost a different recipe. I first sauteed in butter a few shallots (about 3/4 cups roughly chopped) and one peeled and chopped green apple. I added pepper and nutmeg to this. I followed the rest of the recipe separately and I stuck to almost exactly (although I did use a little less maple syrup) and I roughly mashed the potatoes so they would still be a little chunky. Then I mixed in my apple and shallot mixture. Because the shallots are much more mild than onions, it compliments the sweetness of the syrup perfectly. I paired it with smoked porkchops (topped with the same apple/shallot mixture - with some brown sugar added - which comes out like a warm chutney). It was an excellent meal and my roommates still talk about it even though I made it months ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lawyer_Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very easy and delicious. The maple flavor is subtle but adds something different. We used heavy cream rather than milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Great recipe! I cut back a little on the syrup and it was excellent! Served it with the Awesome Honey Pecan Pork Chops I found on this site. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYD203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Time saver suggestion: microwave the sweet potatoes. Wrap them in either wax paper or paper towel and microwave between 3-5 minutes for a large sweet potato. The skin separates easily and you can mash it with a fork. Like other reviewers, I reduced the ingredients and added cinnamon and....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
this was really good but i did not end up needing the maple syrup which is why the four stars...sweet potatoes are sweet enough on their own...i warmed up the milk before i mixed it in, i used two percent milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Used only a bit of syrup to taste. These were not too sweet which was a good change. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Fantastic! A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
My husband is not a huge fan of sweet potatoes, but loved this the first time I made it, almost 4 years ago. We have come back to it for an occasional treat ever since. It is definitely worth it (not to mention healthier) to use real maple syrup, not the fake kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I cut back a little on the butter (about 1/4 c) and syrup (about 1/2 c) and added a whole bunch of cinnamon. When it comes to sweet potatoes, I've always preferred them simple and baked to desserty casserole style, so this simple recipe works well for me! For someone living alone, they keep well in the fridge as a side for various meals through the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Pretty good. I think next time I would add less milk, they came out a little too runny for me. The taste was great, though. I would make again and maybe add some pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States