Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Tried this recipe because i over cooked my yams and made them too soft - This is great - hubby loved it - this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was yummy! I made this with cream and lots of cinnamon and brown sugar...no maple syrup. It was delish with sofried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
this recipe is so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving this year exactly as described. Turned out great. Super easy and yummy. I will be making this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Wonderful flavor, not too sweet, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Perfect blend of flavors. This was a HUGE hit at Thanksgiving. Will definitely file this away as my go-to sweet potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
absolutely delicious! i added some carrots, peas, and corn in at the end, but it was just as tasty without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zafah7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamaroneck, New York, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I love sweet potatoes because they are healthier for you than regular potatoes. I don't use the butter but i did add a little splenda brown sugar and they are plenty sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Thanks so much! I'd bought sweet potatoes because I'd heard they were a nice change from regular, but I didn't know how to cook them. I used 1/2 the butter, and 1/2 the milk, (figuring I could add more if necessary) but I didn't need it. The nutmeg and cloves another user suggested were divine. Thanks so much for posting this easy, easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I gave this five stars but I also changed quite a lot of things about it. So many things that it was almost a different recipe. I first sauteed in butter a few shallots (about 3/4 cups roughly chopped) and one peeled and chopped green apple. I added pepper and nutmeg to this. I followed the rest of the recipe separately and I stuck to almost exactly (although I did use a little less maple syrup) and I roughly mashed the potatoes so they would still be a little chunky. Then I mixed in my apple and shallot mixture. Because the shallots are much more mild than onions, it compliments the sweetness of the syrup perfectly. I paired it with smoked porkchops (topped with the same apple/shallot mixture - with some brown sugar added - which comes out like a warm chutney). It was an excellent meal and my roommates still talk about it even though I made it months ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lawyer_Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States