Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Tried this recipe because i over cooked my yams and made them too soft - This is great - hubby loved it - this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was yummy! I made this with cream and lots of cinnamon and brown sugar...no maple syrup. It was delish with sofried chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
this recipe is so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving this year exactly as described. Turned out great. Super easy and yummy. I will be making this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Wonderful flavor, not too sweet, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Perfect blend of flavors. This was a HUGE hit at Thanksgiving. Will definitely file this away as my go-to sweet potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
absolutely delicious! i added some carrots, peas, and corn in at the end, but it was just as tasty without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zafah7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamaroneck, New York, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I love sweet potatoes because they are healthier for you than regular potatoes. I don't use the butter but i did add a little splenda brown sugar and they are plenty sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Thanks so much! I'd bought sweet potatoes because I'd heard they were a nice change from regular, but I didn't know how to cook them. I used 1/2 the butter, and 1/2 the milk, (figuring I could add more if necessary) but I didn't need it. The nutmeg and cloves another user suggested were divine. Thanks so much for posting this easy, easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I gave this five stars but I also changed quite a lot of things about it. So many things that it was almost a different recipe. I first sauteed in butter a few shallots (about 3/4 cups roughly chopped) and one peeled and chopped green apple. I added pepper and nutmeg to this. I followed the rest of the recipe separately and I stuck to almost exactly (although I did use a little less maple syrup) and I roughly mashed the potatoes so they would still be a little chunky. Then I mixed in my apple and shallot mixture. Because the shallots are much more mild than onions, it compliments the sweetness of the syrup perfectly. I paired it with smoked porkchops (topped with the same apple/shallot mixture - with some brown sugar added - which comes out like a warm chutney). It was an excellent meal and my roommates still talk about it even though I made it months ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lawyer_Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States