Mashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was a good idea to begin with, but I followed the recipe exactly and it was more like baby food than mashed potatoes. Less milk is probably the solution to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyferrand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I whipped these up one night and followed the recipe exactly and they were the BEST mashed sweet potatoes that I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Laura G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I like sugar as much as any sugar-holic, but don't care for candy-sweet dishes with a meal. This recipe was exactly what I wanted - the taste of sweet potatoes that wasn't drowned out by sugar, nuts, and the dreaded marshmallows. After washing and piercing them, I placed the potatoes in glass pan with a bit of water, covered with pierced plastic wrap and microwaved them as another reader suggested. The skin slipped off easily and to avoid the issues of strings, I sliced them into disks, then mashed using a hand masher. Based on the sage advice of others, I added the remaining ingredients incrementally until I achieved the desired consistency and taste. they were going so fast that I hid a couple of servings in the fridge to enjoy with the turkey leftovers today. Many thanks to the contributor - this recipe will be on our table for decades to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made only 2 yams and added milk, butter, brown sugar, and just a dash of maple syrup to taste. Was definitely good and different as I'm getting sick of garlic mashed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by > AE <

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orefield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I just made these for Thursday's Thanksgiving Dinner--They are so good, I can't wait for my guests to try them. I cut down on the maple syrup and added some brown sugar and cinnamon. I will probably also add some chopped pecans when serving. I used sugar free syrup and splenda brown sugar to make them diabetic friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I could eat the whole 6 servings! I didn't add as much milk b/c it would have been too runny. I add the butter first, then the syrup, and add milk until it is the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This recipe was delicious. Didn't really follow the amounts, I just eyeballed them and added what I thought was enough and how my family prefers it. I used pure maple syrup and poured only a bit of a time to taste, I didn't want it to come out to sweet. Also sprinkled some cinnamon. It was perfect, will do again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamma69

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I haven't always been a huge fan of sweet potatoes, but I know they are good for me, so I thought I would try this recipe! Mmm... Super awesome!!!! They tasted more like dessert than potatoes. I added some brown sugar and put in less maple syrup too and they came out great! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fairlady78

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Delicous & easy enough for a week night. Once the potatoes were tender (at least 40 min total), it came together in minutes. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and just a tiny bit of syrup. Also only used about 1/4 cup of milk and wayyy less butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very tasty, simple, and nutritious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States