Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I had some pears I needed to use, so I decided to try this recipe. It was good, but did need more flavor. I used less milk, as the full amount would have made the final result runny. I think a little more butter, some salt, and extra spices would help this. The directions don't state what size sweet potatoes or pears to use, and different pears have different flavors and textures. I imagine this could affect the outcome as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Very, very tasty and I didn't even have white wine...just used water. It almost had a caramel type taste from the pears. I only used 1/8 c. sugar and 1 tbsp. butter in an attempt to keep the calories down. It really didn't need any more. My only complaint is that it was too watery despite the fact that I drained the pears and let the sweet potato dry out a little in the pot. I only added about 1/3 c. of the evaporated milk. My pears were quite ripe...maybe that's why? Ended up putting it in the oven for a while to try to dry it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
AMAZING! I was very skeptical of this recipe, but had both sweet potatoes and pears that I needed to use and wanted a relatively healthy recipe....WOW! I will add this to my regular routine! I have to admit that I do not measure out ingredients when cooking, so I cannot guarantee exact results every time. I also omitted nutmeg because I do not like it, but trust me, this was delicious! (My husband who does not like my adventurous recipes was even surprised at how well it tasted.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Flavor wise, it needed salt desperately, but with some salt, it was delicious. Texture wise, mine came out soupy. I have never cooked with sweet potatoes before and am wondering if maybe the potatoes I used were smaller than normal, casuing the soupiness?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I have not tried this yet, but it sounds very interesting. Been cooking long enough to know what goes well together, and always looking for something new. I will try this soon and get back to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I hate the taste of wine in anything. I substituted apple juice for the wine and it was beyond wonderful. A wonderful Thanksgiving addition. It was gone in seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I hate reviewing recipes I've altered, but I only altered because of a lack of ingredients. I couldn't find pears at the store (I guess they're out of season?), so I used gala apples I had at home. I also added salt to the pot of boiling water. I have no idea how much, but I was pretty liberal with it. Also, I measured a cup of milk (not evaporated) and added slowly until I got the consistency I wanted (it turned out to be about a half a cup). I didn't realize I was out of nutmeg, so I just doubled the cinnamon. My 4-year old is a cinnamon lover, so she loved the flavor! The result was absolutely scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahem54

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Amazing! Loved it, this will be served frequently this winter! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CiCi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Superb w/ minor tweaks. As others mentioned: 1. used 1/4 cup milk at the most (cow's milk works just fine if you don't have evaporated milk on hand). 2. add at least 1/2 tsp salt 3. used slightly less nutmeg, unless you're a big fan. with 1/2 tsp the nutmeg comes through with a strong flavor. 4. For the pears, just used water. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
As saltless recipes go, this was surprisingly good without salt, though we added a small touch of salt after tasting it as is. CHANGES FOR NEXT TIME: use only 1/2 C milk at first (whatever kind is on the rotation for the day: cow's, soy, milk or etc), & optionally use vegan butter if butter is needed at all. Cook pears down to a caramelized mixture next time like another reviewer did - just to see if that adds much oomph. If that doesn't impact the flavor much, them just add the pears to the same pan as the sweet T's after a few minutes of cooking. Hmmm, thinking of caramlized pears makes me think of caramlized onions. That might go well mixed in here too. Either that, or serve with onions sauteed with oil, honey, cinnamon and topped with a touch of walnuts. /// OH, I DID SOMETHING I WOULDN'T DO AGAIN..., I used a hand blender to smooth out the texture in part because I figured that if I whipped all of the sweet potato bits into smaller bits, it would interact with the moisture and be a bit less soupy. That worked well both at smoothing out the texture and thickening the mixture. Everyone liked this anyway, but I'll skip the blender wand next time because it was a touch too smooth. OR if I decide to use the blender wand, will only apply it to a small portion of the pan's contents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States