Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
i loved these potatoes. easy to make. i didn't use ranch dressing i used milk and i used more bacon and mushrooms than the recipe said. the result was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
I think it would be better if you sauteed the mushrooms and onions in a bit of the bacon grease for flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I was just lazy and threw the onions and mushrooms in a few minutes before the bacon was done cooking (I sliced my bacon before cooking) to save time. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. My potatoes were a little too stiff when mashed, so I added a little fat free half and half. These were perfect and a huge hit at our house. My husband has already asked for them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
A million stars! I doubled this, used a full pound of bacon, added DRY ranch dressing and folded in half a bag of coleslaw mix that I'd briefly steamed. I also mashed the potatoes with a stick of butter, couple big scoops of sour cream and a little hot milk. Holy frijoles! Incredible side dish. Be careful that you hold yourself back, you'll stuff yourself silly if you aren't careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Excellent! Hubs and I both loved these potatoes, which I served with Classic Meatloaf and Chef John's Mushroom Gravy. It's perhaps just a matter of personal taste, but I think either olive oil, butter or even bacon grease are more flavorful choices than the vegetable oil for cooking the mushrooms and onions. I also added chopped green onion for freshness, color and a little bite, some softened cream cheese and a splash of milk. These are just packed with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was a good recipe, but I had to add a few things I used 3 tablespoons of ranch. I used a tablespoon of bacon fat to cook the mushrooms and onions to add to the flavor. I added black pepper to the whipped mash potatoes and also some milk because the potatoes were dry. The were a hit at the table my 9 year old Autistic child.It was a hit at the dinner table. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
looking for something fast and this was it. great recipe wife loved it. put in little more bacon and milk instead of ranch. also added green onions, putting this one in the recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
A big hit with the family! These are a nice change from plain mashed. I also added the onion and mushrooms to the bacon just before it was done. Great flavor. Maybe next time I'll try adding some grated cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This was great even though I had to use sour cream as I did not have any ranch dressing. I do now though, and am making it again tonight. I used the bacon fat to saute the mushrooms and onions as it seemed a shame to waste the extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were great mashed potatoes. I realize as I am writing this review, that I did not add the ranch dressing. I did however add 1/4 cup shredded smoked gouda. So very good! I will make as directed next time but this was great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States