Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Thanks for the recipe! I've made some changes for my taste: Cut potatoes into even smaller sizes, kept bacon leftover oil to cook mushrooms, used green onions instead, added 1 tsp garlic salt & 2-3 tbsp of butter, 2 handfuls of corn, and enough milk to make whole potato mixture silkier. With my changes, even my skeptical Mom (who dislikes new recipes) loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Excellent and very tasty potato recipe! I love the combination of fried onion, mushroom and bacon. I used crumbled bacon instead and fried it with the red onion and mushroom! Other than that, I followed the instructions and added the right amounts for each ingredient and it turned out great! I accompanied this tasty potato dish with Cajun deviled eggs, steamed broccoli covered with a three-cheese sauce and garlic-pepper tenderloin steak. It’s unfortunate the steak was too spicy for my girlfriend; otherwise, it was a great combination especially since we were drinking a great bottle of Malbec (Pascual Toso) from Argentina. Delicious! I will definitely make this great potato recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very good recipe! I'm such a sucker for bacon, I added more. I used milk instead of ranch. Got a few compliments at a potluck! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made these for Thanksgiving and what a wonderful change to just normal mashed potatoes. I have tried different recipes for mashed potatoes before and was never a fan but these were so good! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Yum! This is especially good with a little grated smoked cheddar or smoked gouda cheese mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
YUMM!!! Didn't have to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Beth S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was a good recipe, but I had to add a few things I used 3 tablespoons of ranch. I used a tablespoon of bacon fat to cook the mushrooms and onions to add to the flavor. I added black pepper to the whipped mash potatoes and also some milk because the potatoes were dry. The were a hit at the table my 9 year old Autistic child.It was a hit at the dinner table. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This was very good but I doctored it up. I cooked the bacon, onions and mushrooms together. Then I mashed the potatoes up a bit with the ranch - just so they weren't big pcs. Then I added the potatoes to the bacon mixture in the pan and cooked them for a bit trying to get all of the flavors incorporated into the potatoes. They were good this way but I wish I would have fried them a little more to get the potatoes a little crispy. I would use the ingredients again but change how I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
my family loved these. I left out the ranch (not a fan) but still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
looking for something fast and this was it. great recipe wife loved it. put in little more bacon and milk instead of ranch. also added green onions, putting this one in the recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States