Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
These mashed potatoes are fantastic! I didn't have bacon but I'm sure that would add another degree of yum. As I was mashing them I thought they still looked a little dry so I did double the butter and ranch dressing. They were just creamy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Boy Howdy were these ever delicious! I threw in some chopped red bell pepper also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Excellent! Hubs and I both loved these potatoes, which I served with Classic Meatloaf and Chef John's Mushroom Gravy. It's perhaps just a matter of personal taste, but I think either olive oil, butter or even bacon grease are more flavorful choices than the vegetable oil for cooking the mushrooms and onions. I also added chopped green onion for freshness, color and a little bite, some softened cream cheese and a splash of milk. These are just packed with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was delicious. I added more ranch dressing than what the recipe calls for. I also used turkey bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
DEEEELICIOUS! I more or less eyeballed everything adding some milk to make them more creamy, extra ranch and salt and pepper. I was dying to add some blue cheese, but didn't do it, but I will next time as I think that would make these even better. I used a whole 8oz. pkg. of sliced mushrooms, idaho potatoes and 8 slices of bacon. Will be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I couldn't really taste the ranch dressing, but these were still really good. I cooked the onions and mushrooms in leftover bacon grease instead of vegetable oil, and added milk like other reviewers did. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I am new to cooking so I follow recipes to a T. I should have read the reviews first as they were very dry, but from fear of ruining dinner I didn't add anything else to them. (lesson learned lol) In any case, I guess these just aren't for us. My husband was less than impressed and I really didn't care for them either. I love all of the ingredients on their own and thought this would be amazing! Maybe improving the texture would have made all the difference, I'm not sure. But I was certainly dissapointed that I didn't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMcCrea

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were great mashed potatoes. I realize as I am writing this review, that I did not add the ranch dressing. I did however add 1/4 cup shredded smoked gouda. So very good! I will make as directed next time but this was great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
these were delicious. I'd make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly6288

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States