Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
I think it would be better if you sauteed the mushrooms and onions in a bit of the bacon grease for flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
i loved these potatoes. easy to make. i didn't use ranch dressing i used milk and i used more bacon and mushrooms than the recipe said. the result was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
A million stars! I doubled this, used a full pound of bacon, added DRY ranch dressing and folded in half a bag of coleslaw mix that I'd briefly steamed. I also mashed the potatoes with a stick of butter, couple big scoops of sour cream and a little hot milk. Holy frijoles! Incredible side dish. Be careful that you hold yourself back, you'll stuff yourself silly if you aren't careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I was just lazy and threw the onions and mushrooms in a few minutes before the bacon was done cooking (I sliced my bacon before cooking) to save time. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. My potatoes were a little too stiff when mashed, so I added a little fat free half and half. These were perfect and a huge hit at our house. My husband has already asked for them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Excellent! Hubs and I both loved these potatoes, which I served with Classic Meatloaf and Chef John's Mushroom Gravy. It's perhaps just a matter of personal taste, but I think either olive oil, butter or even bacon grease are more flavorful choices than the vegetable oil for cooking the mushrooms and onions. I also added chopped green onion for freshness, color and a little bite, some softened cream cheese and a splash of milk. These are just packed with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was a good recipe, but I had to add a few things I used 3 tablespoons of ranch. I used a tablespoon of bacon fat to cook the mushrooms and onions to add to the flavor. I added black pepper to the whipped mash potatoes and also some milk because the potatoes were dry. The were a hit at the table my 9 year old Autistic child.It was a hit at the dinner table. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
looking for something fast and this was it. great recipe wife loved it. put in little more bacon and milk instead of ranch. also added green onions, putting this one in the recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
A big hit with the family! These are a nice change from plain mashed. I also added the onion and mushrooms to the bacon just before it was done. Great flavor. Maybe next time I'll try adding some grated cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This was great even though I had to use sour cream as I did not have any ranch dressing. I do now though, and am making it again tonight. I used the bacon fat to saute the mushrooms and onions as it seemed a shame to waste the extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I am new to cooking so I follow recipes to a T. I should have read the reviews first as they were very dry, but from fear of ruining dinner I didn't add anything else to them. (lesson learned lol) In any case, I guess these just aren't for us. My husband was less than impressed and I really didn't care for them either. I love all of the ingredients on their own and thought this would be amazing! Maybe improving the texture would have made all the difference, I'm not sure. But I was certainly dissapointed that I didn't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMcCrea

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States