Mashed Potatoes and Buttermilk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
We have been using a version of this Polish dish for 70 plus years. We started with just onions fried in lard and mashed into the potatoes. Then we fried the onions in bacon and used the bacon grease. Now I use diced pork and onions fried in butter. The buttermilk is always used just for dipping. Nothing but the butter, pork and onions are added to the potatoes. The potatoes are left lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made my entire Christmas dinner yesterday with recipes from this site! My boyfriend says this is the only way to make mashed potatoes from now on! Winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Tip 1: Do not skimp on the bacon! I quadrupled the recipe but only tripled the bacon and I was disappointed. Tip2: If you don't have buttermilk and think you can use regular milk or whipping cream, think again. They taste a little more bland this way. If you don't have buttermilk, put a tablespoon of white vinegar to 1 cup of milk. Let sit for 5 minutes and you've got buttermilk. Tip 3: Other reviewers are right, there's way too much buttermilk if you follow the recipe. Add until you achieve desired thickness. Tip 4: You can use all the bacon grease. I did, and it's great! Overall, this recipe is the best simplest recipe for mashed potatoes I've come across and it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very, very, YUM! Bacon, potatos, and buttermilk...what's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These were amazing. My husband asked what I did to the potatoes. He never notices differences I make to a dish. He loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimPerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: House Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe called for way more buttermilk than needed. Next time I will just use a little bit of buttermilk and use in combination with low fat milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Soho
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I prepared this with the ingredients called for, using the measurements only as a guide, and adding some finely chopped green pepper for even more flavor and interest. The bacon, understandably, makes these unbelievably flavorful. I included the bacon grease and still added some butter to boot! I've never made mashed potatoes with buttermilk before, always wondering if they'd make the potatoes too sour/tangy. Not to worry - the buttermilk taste is subtle. I'll remember this when I have buttermilk to use up. I didn't serve the potatoes with extra buttermilk to dip them in because they accompanied meatloaf and gravy (and, truthfully, because dipping the potatoes in a side of buttermilk seemed a little odd to me). We loved this embellishment of traditional mashed potatoes to wake them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
OK - Let's be honest there's nothing really healthy about this recipe and it's a heart attack waiting to happen. But there's times when you just need some comfort food. Right now is one of those times.... I cut the recipe in half and reduced the amount of onion a lot. I added some cracked black pepper and didn't bother with the additional buttermilk on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for two separate dinners this Christmas. I made the first on the day of the dinner and the dish was very good but not outstanding, but I noticed that this dish tasted better the next day so on the the second dinner, I made this the day before and reheated it in the oven on the day of the dinner. Wow it was the best mashed potatoes. The flavours were yummy! I did use less buttermilk. I added it slowly until I achieved the desired consistency and I did not use the buttermilk as a dipping sauce. The bacon really made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States