Mashed Potato Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These are sold in the streets in Mexico. I make this my own by using my favorite taco toppings or add chopped green chiles, sauteed onions and garlic for a 'chiles rellenos' flavor. Use garlic mashed potatoes, add corn, taco seasoning, whatever. To make it lower in fat, I omit the butter, use lo-fat cheese and sub lo-fat yogurt for the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was delicious but I used real mashed potatoes I had left over. I don't care for boxed mashed potatoes. Jazzed it up with more sour cream and cheese and chopped green onion. Low cost meal and a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This is a great idea - I've had mashed potato tacos in the past, the first time in college, when my boyfriend (who was from Mexico) brought me some that his mom had made (he told you could make anything into a taco), and the next time at my favorite Costa Rican restaurant, in one of their tastiest vegan dishes! I can't bring myself to use instant mashed potatoes, so I used leftovers. I also don't care for hard shells, so I use soft corn tortillas, and crisp them a bit in a non-stick pan with a little oil. They can use more zesty spices, I like to use dried red chile powder from New Mexico, and top them with cilantro (no cheese on my tacos, thank you). I think it's a good base to start from and tweak to your own tastes, and a great idea for anyone that's never thought of potato in tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
it's better if you fry your own taco shells either taco or tostada style. make home made mashed potatos, add grilled corn, salt, pepper, cheese and these are fab. you can always add meats if you want to make more of a meal. and butter makes everything better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I made these but used cooked diced potatoes. Added shredded cabbage and seasoned with taco seasoning. Followed up with salsa and shredded cheese. My family loves them, a great change from using mystery hamburger meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
My "kid" loved them! he's 16. Added Cajun spice to the mix in our house... left out the sour cream 'cause the kid doesn't like it. novel idea and "the Kid" approved. Katy Texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I prefer to fry my own tortillas with this recipe. I buy the smaller corn tortillas. I first dip the tortillas in the hot oil and add the mashed potatoes. I then place them back in the oil and fry them up until golden brown...a DEFINITE favorite of the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I don't know what to make of this. It was interesting, but I don't think it's a repeat recipe. I left out the french-fried onions (didn't have any on hand). It was fun to try something different, thanks GUNNEAU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is great for what it is...a quick, easy meal. I don't know what others were expecting, but I was pleasantly surprised. I did add extra cheese and some taco seasoning to boost the flavor. I think it would even be good with some sauteed spinach to add some nutritional value!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I'm not sure why these got such a low rating. Obviously you can't expect gourmet food going into a recipe with instant mashed potatoes. For what these were, a simple lunch, they were great. Yummy little things these were and I will continue to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States