Mashed Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Simple and good soup. Mine was a little thinner than I'd like but I could have put more mashed potatoes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is a great simple recipe!! I had leftover mashed taters and looked on here for ideas. I cut my onions in thick pieces to give texture and I did not thoroughly sauté them so there was an extras little crunch and texture in the soup. You can add ½ and ½ instead of milk and it is wonderfully creamy. Top with pepper jack cheese and bacon makes it wonderful with a zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. It can easily be changed up to fit your tastes. I like to add sauteed garlic and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Amazing! Added a To chicken base, used fat free milk and fat free sour and STILL tasted wonderful! Great ides for leftover mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This has become one of my family's faves. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I did find it a little thin the first time when I made it as directed. When I added a few more potatoes, it was perfect. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This recipe gave me just the inspiration I needed to use leftover mashed potatoes, rotisierie (sp?) chicken and grilled pork loin chops. I subsituted and/or added a few things I had on hand such as leeks for onions, added leftover chicken and pork chops cut into 1/2" chunks, diced celery and fresh corn right off the cob. Plus, stock was made from the chicken carcass and used to enhance the richness of the base along with the milk and butter. I, also, peeled and chopped a few potatoes into 1/2" chunks then sauteed the veggies lightly in olive oil, added enough stock to cover then combined all the ingredients with the mashed potatoes in a stock pot and let simmer with just a splash of rice wine vinegar for brightness. The stock was made with a few whole pieces of celery and onion then added in some fresh herbs (bay leaf, rosemary, sage) as well as a few flakes of dried red pepper. My husband loved it, and the fresh corn cut off the cob added a wonderful sweet "pop" as you ate. (Yes, corn and potatoes are both starches, but the combo works.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is the first time I have reviewed a recipe but I just HAD to with this one. I had a huge amount of mashies left from Tksgiving. My son is a Cordon Blue chef grad. and asked to me find a recipe for using them in soup. This one was so simple even I could do it. He added some free range leftover chicken broth to the pot. Oh my goodness! FABULOUS!! Hot and comforting and flavorful! I am going to make mashies tomorrow just to make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Excellent and so easy! Have a ton of leftover mashed from Thanksgiving. I did double the recipe (to feed more than 3) but added an extra cup of mashed. I started by fine chopping 2 celery stalks I had to use up (so skipped th celery salt) with a chopped onion and 3 cloves of garlic (we love garlic) and sauted with olive oil in a soup pot until softened. I added the potatoes, milk, salt, pepper and 2 packets of chicken bouillion, warmed it up and it was ready. I didn't like that it was lumpy (maybe because my potatoes were so cold to start?) so I popped in my immersion blender to the pot and gave it a blending. There were still some bits of celery and potatoes but not as lumpy. This was so quick and easy. I did eat about 1/3 of a bowl and loved it. I then added some shredded cheese to the bowl and stirred. I must say, even though I am not a big cheese fan, that the cheese raised it up a notch and it was quite delicious. Two thumbs up from both my picky and non-picky sons. Will definitely make again and share the recipe with all of my relatives. A great recipe with little effort. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Loved this! I followed the recipe loosely by adding celery, carrots, curry powder to taste, onion salt instead of celery salt (had none!), and a cup of chicken broth. It was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
All Recipes to the rescue. Needed potato soup for diet purpose. No potatoes in house but used instant potatoes. Turned out great. Will make again. I used Carnation fat free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvester, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States