Mashed Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
good I tweaked it a bit.....in with the mashed potatoes I mashed up cauliflower to sneak another veggie in on the family. topped it off with bacon bits, shredded cheese or croutons,,,,served with a salad and crusty rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
this recipe is a good base, but you definitely have to add more flavor. Like another reviewer , I added chicken broth in place of the water, added some fresh garlic, and carrots. Put in some tarragon and paprika and it was absolutely delicious. I would reccommend using instant mashed potatoes, though b/c they are a better thickener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
It had a serious lack of flavor. The consistency was very strange and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was an excellent dish. I do have a few must try's for it though. Use half the milk and add a bit of cornstarch. Also, use some cheddar and sour cream flavored instant potatoes. I also used onion powder instead of an actual onion. It was fantastic my whole family had seconds and my daughter had thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Very good base to work with!! Of course I made some changes, like everyone on this site. I used chicken stock instead of plain water, upped the mashed potatoes{instant worked great}, and subbed thin sliced cabbage for the celery for a colcannon effect. It turned out wonderful and I will make this again. Top with shredded cheese and crumbled bacon for the ultimate comfort food. My 2 year old loved it[well everyone actually}. It is rather bla as written so play with it, it can be a 5 star recipe with a few special touches!!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda J.
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This recipe as stated was just very "meh" for me. I then added fresh chopped garlic, garlic salt, celery salt and basil, and parmesian cheese, and it is much better. I also liked it topped with onion crackers. Bacon in the soup would be good too. Also, if you don't have mashed potatos on hand, it's alot of unnecessary work to make your own, and they just disappear into the soup anyways. Next time I will just thicken with corn starch if I don't have any mashed potatos ready. I will keep this recipe on hand and work with it some. It's a good base and you should try this if you are ready to tweak it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Great recipe! I added a dollop of sour cream on top and sprinkled some chopped bacon and chives one top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States