Mashed Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I made this and was not impressed at all. In fact I ended up throwing most of it away. There is something missing in this recipe. I don't know what it is. I'll continue to read other reviews to see if someone has any ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Over cooked my potatoes...This recipe saved the day. Left the butter out completely...Cut way back on the mustard... Used hot dog relish that had some mustard in it and added a dash of vinegar for extra zing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
DELICIOUS! This tastes like a baked potato with the works!! I followed the recipe as stated with the exception of the raw onions (used onion power). The green pepper is unusual in many potato salads I've made but this is a nice addition *however I will saute with the pepper and onion prior to placing in the potato salad*. With the salad being warm I didn't like the crunchiness of the veggie. I topped with a handful of chopped bacon and a sprinkle of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Eating mustard potato salad from the grocery store deli will never be the same after tasting this delicious homemade version. My family and I loved it--it was very fresh tasting and had a nice crunchiness from the added vegetables. The mustard really added a nice zip. I made it almost exactly as written, and it produced a big bowlful (I used medium-sized potatoes). It was enough to serve with dinner (baked pork loin chops), and have leftovers the following day. The only very minor adjustments I made were the addition of an extra stalk of chopped celery, a couple of extra chopped sweet pickles (they were small, and my husband loves sweet pickles), and the use of 2 tsps. of celery salt and 1 tsp. of white pepper instead of regular salt and pepper. I think the addition of a few chopped hard-boiled eggs would have been good, too. I also refrigerated it for around 5 hours before serving it to let the flavors meld, and the leftovers were even tastier the next day after refrigerating it overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I have been looking for a recipe like my grandmother's, and this is *perfect.* Since I'm not a huge fan of the raw/cooked texture, I sauteed the onions, celery, green pepper and some fresh ground black peppercorns in a little butter, and let it cool a bit before adding. I also added a couple of hard boiled eggs, and lightly mashed them in with the potatoes....leaving everything a little chunky. Warm or cold, it's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Great salad. I cut back on the mustard initially but added the rest of it at the end as I really liked the tang it gave. Didnt have a bell pepper so added an extra stalk of celery. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is exactly what I was looking for! I would describe the flavor as very similar to the filling that goes into deviled eggs (w/o the yolks, of course). My husband, who does not like "salads," even tried it and liked it. That says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This potato salad was great! I took into consideration the other comments about the mustard and did decrease the amount by half. I also added some Frenches Spicy Brown mustard (half of the total amount of mustard added). I added some of the pickle brine and only "smashed" the potatoes. I doubled the recipe for a party and with the leftovers made a casserole. To do this, I added cooked chopped chicken breast, mozzerella cheese and red peppers. I spread it into a 9x13 pan, sprinkled a little more cheese on top and topped with Itallian seasoned breadcrumbs mixed with melted butter. Bake at 375 for 1/2 hour. It made a fantastic dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
We loved this recipe! I grew up eating mashed potato salad because that's the way my mom made it. The flavors just melt in your mouth. It doesn't stay around long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Westminster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Made as written, I give this 3 stars. We much preferred it, however, without the pickles, and I personally could also have done without the green bell pepper. Oh, to cut back on calories I use lite mayo, and fat-free sour cream. Because the mustard I use - Coleman's English mustard - is very hot and tangy, I only use a couple of tbsps. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States