Mashed Potato, Rutabaga, and Parsnip Casserole with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
This is just a great dish! everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I tried this recipe last Thanksgiving and I liked it a lot. I made it today ( I should have boiled them more because some of the pieces of the rutabaga were still hard) but is was good anyway. I used a light butter.Still the flavor was the same at the first one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiziana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is a fantastic way to introduce new vegetables to people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I already had a wonderful root veggie recipe that I loved and thought nothing could beat, but decided to try this one a few days ago. Well, not only does this one take less effort but it tastes so much yummier, especially with those caramelized onions (I doubled the amount!). Absolutely delicious and hard not to have seconds or even thirds.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This is a very good mash! I made this one winter night and my husband and I were both impressed by the balance of flavors.I didn't find the amount of peeling/prep to be alot of work like some of the reviewers said.And it was just as good warmed over the next day.I'll have to catch these root vegetables on sale and store them to make this casserole.Definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a HUGE hit. It is just the right amount of rutabaga and parsnip to add flavor, but not be overpowering. Best part for me was that I could make it the night before, and 25 minutes before the meal was to be served, I pulled it out of the fridge and popped it into the oven. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe was wonderful. I served it with steak (so midwestern). I reduced the amount of butter. I also guessed as to the weights of the vegetables and used equal parts parsnip, potato, and rutabaga. My whole family (6 audults) thought it was a shame there was not more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Awesome! I love root veggies and this was a nice change from plain old mashed potatoes. I boiled everything in water instead of chicken broth because I'm trying to cut back on sodium. I don't think it affected the flavor much because this was so good! I made sure to carmelize the onions for a long time and tossed in the chopped garlic during the last 4 mins of cooking the onions rather than boiling the garlic with the other ingredients. I also folded the onions and garlic into the potato mixture rather than spreading them on top. I also felt like the mixture was a little dry when I mashed it in my Kitchen-aide mixer so I tossed in a little rice milk and that did the trick. Ate this with "incredibly cheesy turkey meatloaf" from this site and asparagus with lemon. Delicious!! This one will go in the recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I've made this recipe for Thanksgiving the past two years and plan to make it again this year. I keep coming back here to find it each year. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Wonderful! My son hates swede and parsnips but absolutely loved this. I think the onoin topping makes it! It also reheats very well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States