Mashed Potato, Rutabaga, and Parsnip Casserole with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a HUGE hit. It is just the right amount of rutabaga and parsnip to add flavor, but not be overpowering. Best part for me was that I could make it the night before, and 25 minutes before the meal was to be served, I pulled it out of the fridge and popped it into the oven. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This is a very good mash! I made this one winter night and my husband and I were both impressed by the balance of flavors.I didn't find the amount of peeling/prep to be alot of work like some of the reviewers said.And it was just as good warmed over the next day.I'll have to catch these root vegetables on sale and store them to make this casserole.Definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Awesome! I love root veggies and this was a nice change from plain old mashed potatoes. I boiled everything in water instead of chicken broth because I'm trying to cut back on sodium. I don't think it affected the flavor much because this was so good! I made sure to carmelize the onions for a long time and tossed in the chopped garlic during the last 4 mins of cooking the onions rather than boiling the garlic with the other ingredients. I also folded the onions and garlic into the potato mixture rather than spreading them on top. I also felt like the mixture was a little dry when I mashed it in my Kitchen-aide mixer so I tossed in a little rice milk and that did the trick. Ate this with "incredibly cheesy turkey meatloaf" from this site and asparagus with lemon. Delicious!! This one will go in the recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was an experiment, not just for us but also for the dinner guest we had this evening – something I would never recommend doing! I got so lucky on this! We didn’t just tolerate this, or even just like it. This was a real hit – for all of us. Fairly even amounts of the potato, rutabaga and parsnips ensured that each would contribute to create a new flavor all its own - and oh, what a wonderful flavor it was. The “icing on the cake” was the caramelized onions on the top. What a rich and lovely finish, but you MUST let them cook slowly for a good, long time until they truly are golden brown and caramelized. I half-heartedly made this as an alternative to mashed potatoes with our roast beef and gravy dinner tonight. While the entire dinner was perfect and delicious, this side dish single-handedly took my dinner from JUST delicious to exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I already had a wonderful root veggie recipe that I loved and thought nothing could beat, but decided to try this one a few days ago. Well, not only does this one take less effort but it tastes so much yummier, especially with those caramelized onions (I doubled the amount!). Absolutely delicious and hard not to have seconds or even thirds.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
The taste of this was good, but the parsnips were still a little chewy at the end of the 30 minutes, which made it difficult to mash; I think next time I will put the parsnips in the pot as the stock is coming to the boil, so their texture will be more similar to the other root vegies. Also, be warned that this makes a lot more than 9 servings, so you will have plenty to go with the leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Great Recipe - I made it for Thanksgiving. I do have to say that my family commented that they preferred plain ol mashed potatoes for the Holidays though. This recipe was not really a hit with my kids but the adults liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
This is just a great dish! everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Often times I will add either a rutabaga or turnip to my mashed potatoes to give it a deep rich flavor. I liked everything about this recipe except the parsnips. I've discovered that I don't care for parsnips. They gave off a distinct pungent flavor that was easily detectable. Even my husband didn't care for them. If I were to make this again, I would probably add one small parsnip as a slight enhancement to the flavor, but I think the dish would be just fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe was wonderful. I served it with steak (so midwestern). I reduced the amount of butter. I also guessed as to the weights of the vegetables and used equal parts parsnip, potato, and rutabaga. My whole family (6 audults) thought it was a shame there was not more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States