Mashed Potato, Rutabaga, and Parsnip Casserole with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is one of my favorite vegetable dishes. It's absolutely delicious. I often make this with only rutabaga or turnip, instead of the combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was so good I had to force myself to stop eating it. I used veg broth and a mix of coconut oil and olive oil, and I boiled the veggies for 35-40 min. Instead of boiling the garlic, I minced half the amount and added it to the mash. The rutabaga and parsnip added a distinctive, slightly sweet flavor, and the caramelized onions absolutely made this dish--next time, I'll double the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
The taste of this was good, but the parsnips were still a little chewy at the end of the 30 minutes, which made it difficult to mash; I think next time I will put the parsnips in the pot as the stock is coming to the boil, so their texture will be more similar to the other root vegies. Also, be warned that this makes a lot more than 9 servings, so you will have plenty to go with the leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Wonderful! My son hates swede and parsnips but absolutely loved this. I think the onoin topping makes it! It also reheats very well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I've made this recipe for Thanksgiving the past two years and plan to make it again this year. I keep coming back here to find it each year. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Awesome! I love root veggies and this was a nice change from plain old mashed potatoes. I boiled everything in water instead of chicken broth because I'm trying to cut back on sodium. I don't think it affected the flavor much because this was so good! I made sure to carmelize the onions for a long time and tossed in the chopped garlic during the last 4 mins of cooking the onions rather than boiling the garlic with the other ingredients. I also folded the onions and garlic into the potato mixture rather than spreading them on top. I also felt like the mixture was a little dry when I mashed it in my Kitchen-aide mixer so I tossed in a little rice milk and that did the trick. Ate this with "incredibly cheesy turkey meatloaf" from this site and asparagus with lemon. Delicious!! This one will go in the recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I already had a wonderful root veggie recipe that I loved and thought nothing could beat, but decided to try this one a few days ago. Well, not only does this one take less effort but it tastes so much yummier, especially with those caramelized onions (I doubled the amount!). Absolutely delicious and hard not to have seconds or even thirds.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Made this for Christmas Day and it was a huge hit. Does take some time for chopping but well worth it. Everyone loved the taste - I may never make regualar mashed potatoes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe was wonderful. I served it with steak (so midwestern). I reduced the amount of butter. I also guessed as to the weights of the vegetables and used equal parts parsnip, potato, and rutabaga. My whole family (6 audults) thought it was a shame there was not more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I tried this recipe last Thanksgiving and I liked it a lot. I made it today ( I should have boiled them more because some of the pieces of the rutabaga were still hard) but is was good anyway. I used a light butter.Still the flavor was the same at the first one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiziana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States