Mashed Potato, Rutabaga, And Parsnip Casserole With Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I made this for Thanksgiving thinking it was rather risky because the potatoes would be "different." What a pleasant surprise! Even the kids loved the slightly different flavor and the potatoes were devoured. I made a double batch, so I sat down in front of the TV the night before and peeled my heart out. That's the only drawback, those nasty rutabaga and turnip skins. Buts it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I served this last night with steak. I think everyone liked it ok, but no one raved about it. I used potatoes,parsnips,and turnips. Was a little pesky to peel everything, but otherwise easy and I did make it ahead and reheat it. I still think it is a nice fall sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
little less parsnip, little less rutabaga, little less chicken broth, little more potato...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferry, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Era, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I served this with a thyme and rosemary seasoned pork roast last night. I scaled it to four servings, as we are a small family. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. My husband, who always said he "hates" rutabagas and parsnips, loved this recipe. He went back for thirds! My mother-in-law also loved this, and I will definitely make this again. Peeling all the vegetables was worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I was really excited about trying this one for a twist at Thanksgiving. The taste was okay, but the chunks of rutabaga were rock hard even after cooking and it was stringy. Nobody ate it, so I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Very Good and easy Had Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHEA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I scaled the recipe to suit the smaller number I was cooking for. I have made it a couple of times and think it is a great fall/winter dish - a change from 'mashed potatoes again!'. Haven't made ahead yet but have used lefovers as a topping on shepards pie delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathietay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winton, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Was looking for a different mashed potato recipe to serve with our annual New Years Eve Lamb roast and found this one. It was perfect. The only changes I made was to cut back on the butter and instead added a little of the leftover broth to the mashed vegetables. I also sauteed the onion in mostly olive oil with a tablespoon of butter. Just Hubby and I and we loved this, but I plan to make a big batch for my next family potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Fantastic! This is my new dinner party staple. Unable to find parnips, I substituted sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I have made this dish for Thanksgiving now four years in a row so I thought it might be time to write a review. My mother-in-law always specifically asks me in advance about whether I am going to make this because she has come to look forward to it. One of our guests this year said it was the best thing on her plate. The parsnips and rutabaga give the potatoes a sweet/savory twist that is really tasty--different but not too different. This year I spaced out and boiled the vegetables in water instead of broth, and it was still as good as ever, so if necessary, you can omit the broth, I think. Caramelized onions really can't be beat, and in this dish they compliment the flavor perfectly. I caramelized a huge vidalia onion this year and it was awesome. I think that this recipe deserves to be a popular favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States