Mashed Potato Quesadilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These may not be the healthiest but are very good! I have made them a number of times and were the hit of Easter brunch! I followed the recipe exactly each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
OMG - these are SO good! I am on Weight Watchers, and it is not that hard to pare it down in calories and fat. I followed the recipe exact except for using the smaller, lower fat tortillas and just sprinkling the cheese on each one. I used bacon pieces and they are only 35 calories per tbsp. I don't make my mashed potatoes that fattening so that helps also. I served with tomato soup so that you don't have to keep eating them to get satisfied (kind of like eating tomato soup and grilled cheese). To cook, I used my Cusinart Griddler with the flat plates on 400 degrees, so it only took 2 minutes to cook total (because I didn't have to flip). With my own tortilla I used butter flavored spray rather than real butter, and I also didn't add any cheese to mine. It still tasted really good and definitely reminicent of perogies. Tips: you will be tempted to pile on the potatoes, but use a little restraint - the potatoes will seep out if using a grill press like I did. It doesn't affect the taste, just looks a little messy and may run over onto your griddle. Also, heat up your mashed potatoes first for easier mixing. THANKS a million for this awesome recipe, this has to be the BEST way to use up leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Simple, filling, and delicious! Like other reviewers, I tried cutting back on the calories. For the filling, we used homemade mashed potatoes and scallions with just a sprinkle of cheddar cheese and dipped them in a little salsa. Rather than using store-bought tortillas, I used the recipe for Mexican Whole Wheat Tortillas (using olive oil instead of shortening) to add a little more of a healthy twist on it. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentexplorer13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This is very good! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is sooooooooo good. I do not eat Bacon so I left it out, I used leftover garlic mashed potatoes from a restaurant. This is not a healthy recipe but a very good one, perfect for a holiday splurge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
My whole family LOVED these. Simple idea totally wonderful taste! Thanks for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
really interesting idea, i thought these were excellent. I have 2 picky boys so I didn't stir in the green onions, I just added those to the adults servings. I didn't really follow any measurements, just threw in some bacon left over from breakfast, threw on some green onions and of course lots of cheddar cheese. We also dipped these (cause ya need more fat ya know!) in a white melting mexican cheese that we pick up at our local warehouse club. Yummy! these will be a fun treat at our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was very yummy! I think the people that are having problems with this being messy probably didn't leave an inch around the end of the tortilla or press down the potato mixture into the seal of the tortilla. I'm also glad that I added the cheese into the potato mixture because this also helped to make the mixture a bit more dense and easy to handle in the quesadilla. I also added chili powder, garlic powder, sea salt, and pepper into the potatoes (to taste). I didn't need to add anything else...just a bit of cayenne pepper sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Porte City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This is awesome!! You can tailor it to your needs or add extras but this recipe is perfect as is!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
5 stars because it is a tasty idea that is pretty original. I like it, eating it now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States