Mashed Potato Quesadilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
OMG - these are SO good! I am on Weight Watchers, and it is not that hard to pare it down in calories and fat. I followed the recipe exact except for using the smaller, lower fat tortillas and just sprinkling the cheese on each one. I used bacon pieces and they are only 35 calories per tbsp. I don't make my mashed potatoes that fattening so that helps also. I served with tomato soup so that you don't have to keep eating them to get satisfied (kind of like eating tomato soup and grilled cheese). To cook, I used my Cusinart Griddler with the flat plates on 400 degrees, so it only took 2 minutes to cook total (because I didn't have to flip). With my own tortilla I used butter flavored spray rather than real butter, and I also didn't add any cheese to mine. It still tasted really good and definitely reminicent of perogies. Tips: you will be tempted to pile on the potatoes, but use a little restraint - the potatoes will seep out if using a grill press like I did. It doesn't affect the taste, just looks a little messy and may run over onto your griddle. Also, heat up your mashed potatoes first for easier mixing. THANKS a million for this awesome recipe, this has to be the BEST way to use up leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelcampbell
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I made these the other night for my husband and I for dinner. We were looking for something comforting and a little unhealthy...this fit the bill perfectly! It does indeed taste like perogies and even more so once they cool. The only change I made to the recipe was reduce the amount of cheese by about half. It could have used slightly more cheese, but not 2 cups. Anyway, we really liked this dish, but probably won't make it very often because the the fat and calories in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I just made these using leftover Thanksgiving mashed potatoes and they were great! I make quesadillas often and never thought of putting mashed potatoes in them. Great idea! I left out the bacon and green onions because we're not bacon fans and didn't have any green onions on hand. I cooked quesadillas in a dry skillet over medium heat with no butter. They came out perfectly toasted without adding the extra calories from butter. I used a the Mexican style blend of four cheeses but think they would be even better with pepper jack, will try that next time! For the dipping sauce I mixed 1/2 cup sour cream with 2-3 T. salsa. Thanks for the great recipe MrsB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I made these. I want actually a 4.5 stars, couldn't give it a total 5 star for sort of being messy. I did follow the recipe to a T. And all the steps were really really simple. The flavor was great from what my kids tell me. Son didn't like the onions but oh well. My other 3 children gobbled them up. The only part I found was it was hard to spread the potatoes on the tortillas. I think I would do what I do with refried beans for the next go around, because I will make them again, is put the potatoes in a ziploc baggie, snip the corner and pipe them out on the tortilla for easy coverage. But all in all, very simple recipe. Get way to use leftover mashed taters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
great recipe, i added 1/2 lb of spicy ground beef to the mashed potatoes...yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razia M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Simple, filling, and delicious! Like other reviewers, I tried cutting back on the calories. For the filling, we used homemade mashed potatoes and scallions with just a sprinkle of cheddar cheese and dipped them in a little salsa. Rather than using store-bought tortillas, I used the recipe for Mexican Whole Wheat Tortillas (using olive oil instead of shortening) to add a little more of a healthy twist on it. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentexplorer13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
oooooooooo....very, very good recipe! YUM! I loved it! great idea to use up leftover potatoes! My leftovers were the bulk of insides from baking red potatoes for tater'skins....so there was no milk or butter in them, just the potato, I mixed that with a tsp of ready made bacon crumbles and chopped chives...spread it out on a 6 inch LOW-FAT tortilla and quickly fried it without oil, butter or cooking spray, you get a nice crunchie texture on the tortilla and hardly any fat! I served with salsa....I am definitely going to be making these on a regular basis! Thanks MrsB for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
We found some great ways to cut calories on these and make them a tad more healthy. About half the recipe makes enough for 5 people. Also we used turkey bacon instead of regular, omitted the butter, and very lightly sprinkled cheese on top. The mashed potatoes were mixed with 2% milk. Overall a lower fat recipe than before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
this was amazing with some sour cream and salsa on top. my sister does not like mashed potatoes, so instead of mashed potatoes, we gave her potato chunks. she still liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WaterlessCooker
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
made these today, pretty easy & really tasty...carb lovers dream...the first tortilla slipped a little when I tried to flip it, so learned to be more careful! I put sour cream in the potates as well as on the top w/salsa...and used hickory smoked bacon and taco blend cheese...very good, will make again...served with Spicy Honey Mustard Glazed Ribs (this site)...nice combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States