Mashed Potato Quesadilla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kelcampbell
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I made these the other night for my husband and I for dinner. We were looking for something comforting and a little unhealthy...this fit the bill perfectly! It does indeed taste like perogies and even more so once they cool. The only change I made to the recipe was reduce the amount of cheese by about half. It could have used slightly more cheese, but not 2 cups. Anyway, we really liked this dish, but probably won't make it very often because the the fat and calories in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These may not be the healthiest but are very good! I have made them a number of times and were the hit of Easter brunch! I followed the recipe exactly each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
OMG - these are SO good! I am on Weight Watchers, and it is not that hard to pare it down in calories and fat. I followed the recipe exact except for using the smaller, lower fat tortillas and just sprinkling the cheese on each one. I used bacon pieces and they are only 35 calories per tbsp. I don't make my mashed potatoes that fattening so that helps also. I served with tomato soup so that you don't have to keep eating them to get satisfied (kind of like eating tomato soup and grilled cheese). To cook, I used my Cusinart Griddler with the flat plates on 400 degrees, so it only took 2 minutes to cook total (because I didn't have to flip). With my own tortilla I used butter flavored spray rather than real butter, and I also didn't add any cheese to mine. It still tasted really good and definitely reminicent of perogies. Tips: you will be tempted to pile on the potatoes, but use a little restraint - the potatoes will seep out if using a grill press like I did. It doesn't affect the taste, just looks a little messy and may run over onto your griddle. Also, heat up your mashed potatoes first for easier mixing. THANKS a million for this awesome recipe, this has to be the BEST way to use up leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
We found some great ways to cut calories on these and make them a tad more healthy. About half the recipe makes enough for 5 people. Also we used turkey bacon instead of regular, omitted the butter, and very lightly sprinkled cheese on top. The mashed potatoes were mixed with 2% milk. Overall a lower fat recipe than before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Its a great way to use left over mashed potatoes, they are good but not something to brag over, just good if you have leftovers and are looking for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. B

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Simple, filling, and delicious! Like other reviewers, I tried cutting back on the calories. For the filling, we used homemade mashed potatoes and scallions with just a sprinkle of cheddar cheese and dipped them in a little salsa. Rather than using store-bought tortillas, I used the recipe for Mexican Whole Wheat Tortillas (using olive oil instead of shortening) to add a little more of a healthy twist on it. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentexplorer13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This is very good! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is sooooooooo good. I do not eat Bacon so I left it out, I used leftover garlic mashed potatoes from a restaurant. This is not a healthy recipe but a very good one, perfect for a holiday splurge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Followed recipe, except used smaller tortillas, and ended up with lots of extra filling that we used as a dip when we had guests over. They loved it! Also next time I'll use regular mashed potatoes instead of the garlic-flavored kind I had on hand at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I made these. I want actually a 4.5 stars, couldn't give it a total 5 star for sort of being messy. I did follow the recipe to a T. And all the steps were really really simple. The flavor was great from what my kids tell me. Son didn't like the onions but oh well. My other 3 children gobbled them up. The only part I found was it was hard to spread the potatoes on the tortillas. I think I would do what I do with refried beans for the next go around, because I will make them again, is put the potatoes in a ziploc baggie, snip the corner and pipe them out on the tortilla for easy coverage. But all in all, very simple recipe. Get way to use leftover mashed taters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States