Mashed Potato Layer Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Um, yeah. I probably about doubled the cheese cuz I always do. Mashed potatoes, mashed sweet potatoes, and cheese. The only way it would be better is if we found some way to add chocolate to it. Everyone liked this one. I did have to add a little milk to the white potatoes so they wouldn't be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Wonderful! If you are looking for a sweet potato casserole that doesn't play up the sweetness, this is perfect. I also added extra cheese and used plain cream cheese but added garlic and onion powder. Served with pork tenderloin, green beans and a salad. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Deserves more than 5 for sure! Served this for Easter with pork tenderloin & it was GONE! Perfection. THANK YOU for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie King Pitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Maine, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Not only did this taste great, it was unique and company worthy. The sweet potato taste did not come through very strongly so I would not be afraid to serve this to people who didn't care for the sweet variety. I used russet potatos for the white layer, but had to add additional sour cream to make it spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
WOW! was so delicious! added cayenne for some spicyness. will make again and again, and AGAIN!!! yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudMommyof2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I made this, froze this, and took it to our family beach vacation. It was a nice treat and much easier to put together at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Made this dish for a large potluck......BOY! It was a hit!! The youngest baby at the party would only eat this and grapes, and everybody went back for seconds. The only change I made was that I used more cheese, it just didn't seem like enough for a cheese lover like me! I was surprised at how easy it was to make as well. I had never cooked with fresh sweet potatoes, nor have I mashed them, but their texture was delightful! Needless to say this dish is a star, and if you care to make it, you will not have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My hubby's family had a dinner where everyone had to bring a dish they'd never made before and I was assigned "potatoes". AAAACK! What haven't I done with a potato before? I saw the rave reviews for this recipe, but still was NOT confident it would turn out as good as the reviewers said. I was wrong - the dish was wiped out in a matter of minutes! My 10-year old nephew went back for the fourth time only to find the dish empty. I couldn't find chive and onion cream cheese, so followed the advice of other reviewers and added 1/4 tsp each of onion and garlic powder to plain light cream cheese. I also nuked my potatoes, but found they didn't cook evenly. I'll either bake or boil them next time . . . and there WILL be a next time! I've been ordered to bring these to our family Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Really really yummy! Will be making this for Thanksgiving dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was pretty good. A bit too rich for my tastes due to the crm cheese. I only used 1 swt potato because it was HUGE! I prepared in advance and stored in frige which worked quite well. I baked at 350 for about 30 minutes (covered). I then topped it with a Panko/butter/spice crumble & baked another 15 minutes uncovered. I will use much less crm cheese or none at all if I try this again. Thinking a chipotle or pepper jack cheddar would be my other change vs plain cheddar. If you like dense rich potatoes then this ones for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States