Mashed Potato Dream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Deeeelicious! I only sauteed the white parts of the green onion, mixing the rest in at the end to keep them green, then garnished with more. Rather than garlic powder, I tossed a few good sized cloves of garlic in the water to cook with the potatoes. I used probably half again as much horseradish as was called for, and extra butter as well. The Parmesan cheese was a nice touch and is so subtle that my Parmesan cheese hating hubby didn't even notice it. We really enjoyed this and it complemented the roast beef I served it with perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
Interesting combination of flavors. I just made a few minor adjustments to this recipe. Omitted garlic salt and used one fresh garlic clove. I also did not saute' the green onions because I don't really care for them cooked. Also, I like my mashed potatoes very creamy, so I added more milk than indicated. This would be an easy recipe to prepare low fat or even vegan with substitutions. If you are a fan of horseradish and want to try something a little different, this is the recipe for you! Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
It tasted okey, but for the work I felt it was eisier just to add a packet of ranch seasonings and tastier as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This was really good! The only thing I did differently was use 2 garlic cloves instead of powder, and cook them in the butter a few minutes before adding the green onions. I used red potatoes (a few extra since they were smaller) and skim milk. I wouldn't add all the milk first like the recipe states; I just splashed some in until it was the right consistency and it wasn't nearly 1/2 cup, probably not even half that. Great with Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
There were too many flavours competing in this dish, in my opinion. Any one or two of the flavourings would be great in mashed potaties, but all of them together were not a big hit in our house. It was interesting to try, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
If you are looking for an alternative to bland regular mashed potatoes...look no further! These are sooooo impressive, like something from a gourmet restraunt. I used fresh garlic cloves instead of garlic powder and added a dash of white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I loved these mashed potatoes. Mashed potatoes are my favorite food, so I was a little hesitant to try something different from the old standard I'm used to, but these were fantastic. The horseradish really doesn't end up tasting like horseradish, and with such a small amount, it doesn't make the potatoes "spicy" or anything. It's just a really good flavor. I didn't have green onions, so I used regular white onion, chopped. I will try the green onions next time, though. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Kimber, your potatoes were sensational! I love parm cheese so I added more and cut back on the butter a bit. LOVED this recipe and thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These were great potatoes to serve with the roast beef recipe from this site. I only used 1/2 tablespoon of horseradish and I thought it was plenty. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
These were good. I added a couple more tbsp. of butter. No pics because there were no leftovers. We ate them all. SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States