Mashed Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I dislike potato flakes but had a leftover box that I wanted to useup in a new way. I'm saying this because maybe this recipe just isn't good for those how don't like instant potatoes. I found this recipe to be really gross. I had 1 serving and the rest will be thrown out - and I HATE to waste anything but this just should not be eaten. Obviously a lot of people have enjoyed this recipe, and perhaps I'm a potato snob, but I would say if you just generally dislike potato flakes, this isn't for you. If you do, well eat your heart out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Have been using this recipe for several years and use the recipe as is or I use several variations w/the dip flavors. We love all types, but our favorite is using White Cheddar and Bacon Dip - and I add some bacon bits and some shredded Vermont White Sharp Cheddar. Dee-lish!! And if you want to be really BAD - a little bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Good but not great. I liked that I could make it ahead of time and keep in the fridge until needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Very quick and easy and quite tasty. Feeding just two for supper, I halved the recipe, but rather than using half a container each of cream cheese and onion dip, I just used one whole (8 oz) tub of the Chive & Onion Cream Cheese. Added about 1/4 cup of bacon bits too. I will definitely make this again. It will probably be on my holiday side dish list since it can be made up ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Made these for dinner tonight, lucky for me my SO is a good sport about new recipes. I followed this recipe to the letter, and it turned out awful. Was way to soupy. I will add more Potato Flakes and freeze these and try again another day. Don not think I will be making these again. Sorry Mary, I was so looking forward to these after reading all the great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I have made this so many times and it alwasys turns out great. I sometimes use 8z sour cream (instead of onion dip) then I add 1 tsp. of onion powder or 1 tsp. of garlic powder. I also use a stand mixer before I pour everything in the casserole dish and it turns out very smooth and creamy. Everyone loves it and it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
It seems like a tasty brunch option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Taegu, Taegu-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is a Great Recipe! The only change that I made was decreasing the Salt to 1/4 teaspoon. I love being able to mix it ahead of time and bake it when needed! Regular mashed potatoes cool down so fast once on the table....this one stays good and hot in the casserole! We place it on a trivet in the middle of the table! Thanks for sharing this Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I think this recipe came out great but my picky kids and husband thought the onion taste was too strong. Next time,I will use sour cream ..Consistency came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was good but I guess I'm not an instant potato person. I would use real potatoes if I made this again. I did use the hint and topped with fried onion rings and it was a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States