Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is very simple to make for the air conditioning man. The family loves these and you do not have to fry these guys. This is differently a BIG FIVE STAR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Upper Verlot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
We had leftover mashed potatoes looking to do something different w/ them. This recipe was great! Followed recipe as is but added crumbled bacon, hot sauce to mix and topped w/cheddar cheese. We loved them making them again tonight, 2 nights in a row. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdd1070

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is a great no fail, basic recipe. I started out following the recipe exactly and then just kept tasting it and adding things to it. I doubled the recipe and omitted the onions, using onion powder instead. then i added about half a pound of cooked and crumbled bacon, a cup of green onions chopped and roughly a cup of shredded cheese. I cooked most of them in the oven, but my husband wanted his fried so i did a few that way as well. I brushed all with egg but the ones fried in the pan the egg flavor was stronger and the insides stayed a bit more moist. The oven baked ones crisped up much nicer. Will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
very delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Bland. Not a keeper for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
i did them in the oven, no egg wash, just flipped them over. topped with homemade ranch (also from this site) delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
For those on a wheat & gluten free diet like myself, I made these with a combo of mashed red potatoes and butternut squash and used 1:1 garbanzo bean flour & quinoa flour. I needed twice the amount of flour (squash adds xtra water) and an extra egg in the mixture. Then spiced them up with fresh ground cardamom and some crushed hazelnuts. Served with sauteed fresh beets and pork loin ... DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I have thrown together similar recipes, but never wrote one down. I decided to try an actual recipe. However, I felt the dominant flavor was flour. I even added a minced garlic clove to the onions to. I was using leftover mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving. I luckily had some leftover cranberry sauce, I made, which greatly improved the taste. I would add favorite seasonings or maybe even some cheese to spruce these up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These were very quick and eay to make....I did two things different though...I added shredded cheese and I made them in a skillet...my daughters loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Schultz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Bland but good. I make them for my 1 year old, and he likes them. When we have a flavor filled meat, these fill in nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States