Mashed Kohlrabi and Red Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I boiled both the kohlrabi and the potatoes, only added the potatoes after the kohlrabi had boiled for about 5 - 6 minutes. I didn't have any cheese, so I just ate them plain with some sour cream mixed in. Next time, however, I'll eat them with cheese because really, what's not better with cheese?!? I like the way it lightened up my potatoes and gave it a nice (yet not overpowering) earthy taste. Viva la kohlrabi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Very similar to Colcannon. I agree that you should boil the kohlrabi a few minutes before adding the potatoes (5 sounds good), or those pieces remain a bit crunchy and hard to mash. I added garlic powder (instead of garlic scapes) lite sour cream, olive oil spread, sea salt, and lactose free milk...mashed like crazy and served. Tasted yummy. This was our first time eating kohlrabi, and I'm not disappointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Walkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I STEAMED the potatoes (skins on = more nutrients) and kohlrabi ( the latter being in much smaller pieces so that it cooked faster reading that it takes longer) because steaming helps RETAIN MORE NUTRIENTS than boiling. I also FINELY CHOPPED THE KOHLRABI LEAVES (stems removed) because they have significantly MORE NUTRIENTS than the bulb itself. After cooking the potatoes and kohlrabi I added the leaves with the potatoes and kohlrabi pieces to the blender (easier than mashing or food processor - I have an unusual blender…). Blended it all together with a tablespoon of MELT, put it in agreased little crock dish, covered with a little layer of fresh chopped parsley and then spread over that a layer of shredded pepper jack (just what I had on hand but could easily be a multitude of cheese options, or something vegan - will ponder that..) and baked for a bit till the cheese had a brown light crisp - about 425 for 15 mins. Added a little salt to taste in my bowl and was AMAZING!! It was the first time I've even done anything with kohlrabi so it was a great experience. I plan on tweaking this to be vegan to take to Thanksgiving for me and my uncle and his gf. :) STEAM!!! ADD CHOPPED LEAVES!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
We enjoyed this, but it seemed a little bland as is. A bit of sea salt helped. Boiling the potatoes and kohlrabi in vegetable or chicken broth would probably also do it (save some of the broth when draining in case you need to add some back to get the mashed veggies to the right consistency).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I changed the ingredients slightly and adjusted the method. Slicing the potatoes and kohlrabi equally, I added the garlic and let cook while I browned German sausage in a cast iron skillet. Then I put the potato and kohlrabi mixture into the skillet, sliced the cooked sausage and put on top along with the cheese. Baked in a 350 degree oven for 1/2 hour. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This is very good Had made Mashed Kohlrabi and Potatoes before but not with the cheese and garlic - a real flavor enhancement. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
A nice twist on mashed potatoes. I just cooked them both in water and mashed like potatoes and added spices. A little bland even with the cheese, but this makes a good base. Possibly a sauce would go well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I used golden potatoes and boiled them with the kohlrabi. I drained when soft and blended in the mixer with milk, butter, salt, pepper, sour cream, and cheese. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was a great way to use a lot of CSA ingredients, but like other reviewers, thought it was bland. I used cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella, and added oregano, salt, adobo, and onion powder, and it was delicious. A side of roasted cauliflower gave the meal some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Wonderful way to use up kohlrabi. I didn't use enough garlic scapes and will add extra next time. The potatoes were a bit gummy, so added a little cottage cheese to help cream it up a bit. A+++ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Watch how to infuse mashed potatoes with the magical flavor of garlic.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Bella’s Rosemary Red Potatoes

A simple side dish that’s impressive enough for holidays and guests.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States