Mashed Jalapeno-Cilantro Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
My family LOVED this and I am not even a sweet potatoe fan but the sweet and spicy was oh so yummy! My question is tho how do you peel the potatoes when they just come out of the oven?? I was burning my fingers! Maybe I'm reading instructions wrong?! And th cooking of the jalepeno part threw me off too- make sure to cook the jalepenos when the potatoes are cooking the first time or you will have to add another 20mins to your time. I just popped mine in the george foreman to get them cooked fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Wow. Homerun! Now we changed the cooking method because it's summer and too hot for the oven. We bbq'd the potatoes whole and then peeled. ouch! The electric mixer was a great idea. Added the walnuts after it was all mixed up and skipped the "back in the oven" step. They were still hot from the Q. I questioned the orange juice but it was surprisingly good. Everyone liked this one and I will make it again for sure! Thank you Terri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Nice accompaniment to Jay's Jerk Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Really zippy flavor! Definitely a repeat. Next time I will double it. Also, after roasting the jalepeno I took the seeds out to make it mild enough for the kids to eat. I still got the jalepeno flavor without too much bite. Also could halve the butter to cut down on fat, I didn't notice the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made this for the first time last night to go with pork chops. Husband really liked it. 5 stars in my opinion because: a little unusual, pretty healthy, pretty cheap, esey to put together. Did not like the having to "cook twice".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good. To clarify,sweet potatoes have white flesh. This recipe is actually for yams, which are an orange colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
My husband and I loved this recipe! I didn't drizzle butter on top, add cilantro or nuts and it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vella_marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
We made this on our camping trip. I just cooked the sweet potatoes in the campfire wrapped in foil for about 50 min. Also roasted the jalapeno over the fire. I then mashed all the ingredients together except the orange juice, didn't have any and really don't think it was needed or we'd like that addition. Also didn't top with walnuts. These were very good and a nice change from regular grilled sweet potatoes, love the roasted jalapeno and sweet potato combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Fantastic! The jalapeno and cilantro perfectly balance the sweetness in the potatoes even with the OJ. I did not blend them I just mashed with a fork because others complained about them being too mushy. I did not have any walnuts but I think I will try this with Pecans next time which I think will be a better match for the butter and add some texture. This will be on the menu for Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Had a nice sharp taste to it, but not too hot. Very moist and not sweet. Very good with pork tenderloin marinaded in southwest adobo marinade. I too, cut the butter in half. Will definitely make again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States