Mashed Jalapeno-Cilantro Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I just had normal potatoes and green bell peppers at home. Since we cannot eat a lot of hot foods, it was good for us. This recipe rocks. Since it was potatoes, I did not mash it with a mixer, kept it chunky. Used less butter too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Loved it! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jonesburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
My fiance and I really don't like sweet potatoes but got a bunch in our CSA box. We love spicy food so I gave this recipe a shot. The only thing I changed was that I used my food processer to mix it instead of a hand mixer. It was amazing! Very rich, complex flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysandramarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I LOVE IT!! I browned the butter before adding it, and putting in a bit more OJ... it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Excellent recipe! This was a huge hit at a recent dinner party - absolutely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Claire

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is my all time favorite. I could eat this weekly and not tire of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
We used mandarin orange juice (all we had) and pecans since we are alergic to walnuts. Very good thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Yum! Have made these twice already! I even used only 1 tbsp of light butter (for calorie reasons) and these potatoes were still special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Awesome! Even my husband liked these and he isn't the biggest sweet potato fan. The only changes I made were to top with pecans instead of walnuts, cut the butter in half during the mashing step, and omitted the melted butter at the end. I suspected that all that butter wasn't totally necessary and I was right (at least for our tastes). Don't skip roasting the jalapeno, it gives the potatoes such a great flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Super Yummy! My family isn't a huge sweet potato fan and these were a huge hit! I only had pickled jalapenos, I added a couple shallots, used frozen orange juice concentrate and less butter. They were super good and I found out from a friend that sweet potatoes have a lower glycemic index than other potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States